Submission Deadline: May 23, 2018

2018 Steel Competition

Affordable Housing & Open


May 23, 2018

Submission Deadline

Summer 2018

Winners Announced

Fall 2018

Publication of Summary Book

The American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) have selected the recipients of the 2018 Steel Design Student Competition. The competition recognizes sixteen exceptional projects, in two categories, that explore a variety of issues related to the use of steel in design and construction.


The jurors awarded First, Second, Third and five Honorable Mentions in both categories.

The jury for the 2018 Steel Competition, Category I Affordable Housing includes:

  • Margaret Griffin, Griffin Enright Architects & Southern California Institute of Architecture
  • Hans C. Herrmann, Mississippi State University
  • Joanna Zhang, ‎Skidmore Owings & Merrill.

The jury for the 2018 Steel Competition, Category II Open includes:

  • Diogo Burnay, Dalhousie University
  • Ming Hu, University of Maryland
  • Elizabeth Martin-Malikian, Kennesaw State University

First Place: Open

Students: Tatiana Estrina
Faculty: Vincent Hui

Project Details

First Place: Affordable Housing

Students: Austin Vandepoll, Nathalie Altamirano
Faculty: Marc Anthony Manack

Project Details

Second Place: Open

Student: Tyler Armstrong
Faculty: Margarida Yin

Project Details

Second Place: Affordable Housing

Student: Cera Yeo
Faculty: Christopher Falliers & Antje K. Steinmuller

Project Details

Third Place: Open

Students: Stephen Breaux, Cutler Price
Faculty: Thomas Fowler

Project Details

Third Place: Affordable Housing

Students: Arturo Lujan, Pedro Pinera-Rodriguez, & Ryan Smith
Faculty: Peter L. Wong, Christopher Jarrett

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Affordable Housing

Students: Alnaim Ahmad & Anas Mahjoob
Faculty: Osman Attmann

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Open - Dynamic Force on Context

Students: Guanzhou Ji
Faculty: Wyn Bielaska

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Open - The Coney Express

Students: Zhi Mankin, Dana Cameron
Faculty: Thomas Fowler

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Open - Storing Memories

Students: John Harlan
Faculty: Erik M. Hemingway

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Open - The Silhouette

Students: Jesse Gomez, Hanshi Li
Faculty: Duane McLemore

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Open - The Sheath

Students: Ariel Adhidevara & Saul Serrano
Faculty: Daniel Abbott

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Affordable Housing - Interstitial Fabric

Students: Stephanie Kortman, Kirk Paisley, & Alin Codreanu
Faculty: Scott Gerald Shall

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Affordable Housing - Margin

Students: Kengo Kawagashira
Faculty: Ahmed K. Ali

Project Details

Honorable Mention: Affordable Housing - The Void

Students: Adan Ramos
Faculty: Peter Noonan

Project Details
Participating Schools

The competition had over 900 participants and received nearly 300 submissions from the following schools:

Ball State University, Boston Architectural College, California College of the Arts, California Polytechnic State University, Carleton University, Catholic University of America, City College of New York, Clemson University, Community College of Denver, Cornell University, Diablo Valley College, Florida A&M University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Howard University, Thomas Jefferson University, Lawrence Technological University, Louisiana Tech University, Marywood University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, NewSchool of Architecture and Design, North Carolina State University, North Dakota State University, Oklahoma State University, Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico, Prairie View A&M University, Rhode Island School of Design, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, S. California Institute of Architecture, Southern Illinois University, State University of New York at Alfred State College, Temple University, Texas A&M University, The University of Colorado Boulder, Universidad De La Salle Bajío, Université de Québec à Montréal, Université Laval, University At Buffalo, SUNY, University of Colorado Denver, University of Hartford, University of Houston, U. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, University of Kansas, University of Louisiana – Lafayette, University of Maine at Augusta, University of Maryland, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of New Mexico, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, University of Washington, University of Waterloo, Virginia Tech, Washington University in St. Louis, Western Kentucky University, & Woodbury University