2016 Architectural Education Award Winners

ACSA is pleased to announce the 2015-2016 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector. Congratulations to all the award winners!

Read about the winning submissions below, and be sure to join us in celebrating the winners in Seattle at the 104th ACSA Annual Meeting.

The AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education is awarded jointly by the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) to an individual, who must be living at the time of nomination, who has spent at least a decade primarily involved in architectural education, and whose primary contribution to architectural education has been on the North American continent.

Douglas S. Kelbaugh

University of Michigan

Douglas S. Kelbaugh, FAIA, recipient of the 2016 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education, has been renowned throughout his career for his teaching, practice, and writing regarding the environmental aspects of architecture

The ACSA/AIAS New Faculty Teaching Award recognizes demonstrated excellence in teaching performance during the formative years of an architectural teaching career.

Erin Carraher

University of Utah

Lisa Huang

University of Florida

Adam Marcus

California College of the Arts

The ACSA Diversity Achievement Award recognizes the work of faculty, administrators, or students in creating effective methods and models to achieve greater diversity in curricula, school personnel, and student bodies, specifically to incorporate the participation and contributions of historically under-represented groups or contexts.

Kiwana T. McClung

University of Louisiana – Lafayette

Jason Logan, Gregory Marinic,
Ziad Qureshi, Josh Robbins and Susan Rogers

University of Houston

Greg Donofrio

University of Minnesota

The ACSA Faculty Design Award provides a venue for work that advances the reflective nature of practice and teaching by recognizing and encouraging outstanding work in architecture and related environmental design fields as a critical endeavor.

Durotaxis Chair

Alvin Huang, University of Southern California


Anya Sirota, University of Michigan

Learning from the Countryside

Taiji Miyasaka, Washington State University

Blue Barn Theatre & Boxcar 10

Jeffrey L. Day, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
E.B. Min, California College of the Arts

The ACSA/AIA Housing Design Education Award, Excellence in Housing Education Course or Activity recognizes the importance of good education in housing design to produce architects ready for practice in a wide range of areas and able to be capable leaders and contributors to their communities.

University of Oregon Housing
Specialization Program

Michael Fifield, Peter A. Keyes, & Rob Thallon
University of Oregon

The Invisible Houses

Gonzalo Lizarralde, Universite de Montreal

The AIA/ACSA Practice and Leadership Award discovers and recognizes “best practice” examples of highly effective teaching, scholarship, and outreach in the areas of professional practice and leadership.

Building Stories

Renee Cheng, University of Minnesota

Voices from the Field

Caryn Brause, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Public Interest Architecture Program

Georgia Bizios, North Carolina
State University

The ACSA Distinguished Professor Award recognizes sustained creative achievement in the advancement of architectural education through teaching, design, scholarship, research, or service.

Daniel Friedman

University of Hawaii – Manoa

Francisco J. Rodriguez-Suarez

Universidad de Puerto Rico

The ACSA Creative Achievement Award recognizes a specific creative achievement in teaching, design, scholarship, research, or service that advances architectural education.

Unearthing Traces of Rhode Island’s Slavery and Slave Trade

Julian Bonder, Roger Williams University

Emmanouil Vermisso

Florida Atlantic University

Troy Schaum

Rice University

The ACSA Collaborative Practice Award honors the best practices in school-based community outreach programs.

Bemis Gardens

Jeffrey L. Day, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
E.B. Min, California College of the Arts

Louder than a Bomb

Terry Boling, MetroLAB, University of Cincinnati

Fayetteville 2030: Food City Scenario

Stephen D. Luoni, University of Arkansas
Jeffrey Erwin Huber, Florida Atlantic University

Project RE_

John E. Folan and Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS)
Carnegie Mellon University

The ACSA Design-Build Award honors the best practices in school-based design-build projects.

c u b e

Patrick Doan, William U. Galloway & Frank
Weiner, Virginia Tech

Camp Daisy Hindman in Dover, Kansas

David Dowell, Kansas State University

Lamar Station Classroom for Urban Farming

Rick Sommerfeld, University of Colorado Denver

Colorado Outward Bound Micro Cabins

Rick Sommerfeld, University of Colorado Denver

These awards are selected as the Journal of Architecture Education (JAE) Best Articles from the all those submitted to the journal in the award year. The JAE has for more than 60 years represented the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture as the flagship publication of this important architectural organization.

Scholarship of Design:

Practicing Reform: Experiments in
Post-Revolutionary Chinese Architectural Production, 1973–1989 Cole Roskam,
The University of Hong Kong

Cole Roskam, The University of Hong Kong

Design as Scholarship:

Rematerializations: Prototypical Exploration
of Neovernacular Structures in South Africa

Daniel Baerlecken, Georgia Institute of Technology
Judith Reitz, Peter Behrens School of Architecture
Nora Mueller, RWTH Aachen University
Bernadette Heiermann, RWTH Aachen University

ACSA would like to thank the awards jurors, board of directors, and JAE editorial board for their work in reviewing almost 200 submissions and selecting the above award winners.  View past winners.

Michael Hoffman, Norwich U.
Stephen Vogel, U. of Detroit Mercy
Danielle Mitchell, AIAS Rep.
Katherine L. Schwennsen, Clemson U.
Marilyn Jordan Taylor, U. of Pennsylvania

NFT JURY Chair: Joel Pominville, AIAS Rep.
Tori Vuono, NYIT
Francis Lyn, Florida Atlantic U.
Stephen White, Roger Williams U.

DA JURY Chair: Ming Fung, SCI-Arc
Rashida Ng, Temple U.
Nichole Wiedemann, U. of Texas at Austin

CP JURY Chair: Mary Hardin, U. of Arizona
Michael Hughes, American U. of Sharjah
Nonya Grenader, Rice U.

HDE JURY Chair: John Cays, NJIT
John Quale, U. of New Mexico
Katherine Williams, Fifth Generation Holdings  / AIA Rep.
R. Denise Everson, DC Housing Authority / AIA Rep.

PL JURY  Chair: Maurice Cox. Tulane U.
Glen LeRoy, BAC
Cheryl Morgan, Auburn Urban Studio
Nadia Anderson, Iowa State U.

DP JURY Chair: Ming Fung, SCI-Arc
John Cays, NJIT
Carmina Sanchez del Valle, Hampton U.
William Carpenter, Southern Poly State U.

CA JURY Chair: John Cays, NJIT
Ila Berman, U. of Waterloo
Stephen Phillips, California Poly. State U.

FD JURY Chair: Marlon Blackwell, U. of Arkansas
Ming Fung, SCI-Arc
Aziza Chaouni, U. of Toronto

DB JURY Chair: John Cays, NJIT
Ryan Smith, U. of Utah
Chad Kraus, U. of Kansas

JAE Best Article Award Jury
JAE Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors

+ 2015-2016 ACSA Awards Program – View the original “Call for Nominations & Submissions”