2017 Architectural Education Award Winners

ACSA is pleased to announce the 2016-2017 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector. Congratulations to all the award winners!

Read about the winning submissions below, and be sure to join us in celebrating the winners in Detroit at the 105th ACSA Annual Meeting.

Robert A.M. Stern

Yale University



DP-Findley   DP-Rigau

Lisa Findley

California College of the Arts

Christopher Long

University of Texas at Austin

Jorge I. Rigau

Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico


Roger Schluntz

University of New Mexico

Christine O.

California Polytechnic State University



Creative Achievement Award
CA-ArtofSpace CA-Kallipoliti

Alexander Eisenschmidt

The University of Illinois at Chicago

Art of Space

Gerard Nadeau
Drury University

Lydia Kallipoliti

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute



Dotte Agency

Nils Gore, Shannon Criss,
& Matthew Kleinmann
University of Kansas

Education Center for
Beardsley Community

Jennifer Akerman & Robert C. French
University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Studio 335: Collaborative
Service Learning

Robert Brooks & Thomas Bradley Deal
Louisiana Tech University


Learn & Grow: An Educational Garden for the Boys & Girls Club

Alexis Gregory
Mississippi State University

Beginning Design: The HBCU Experience

Pavlina Ilieva, Gabriel Kroiz, & Adam Bridge
Morgan State University



NFT-Caine NFT-Ishida    

Ian Caine

University of Texas At San Antonio

Aki Ishida

Virginia Tech

Lance Walters

University of Hawaii At Manoa


FD-Unbuilding FD-PacificAquarium

Unbuilding Long Branch

Matt Burgermaster
Parsons The New School for Design

Pacific Aquarium

Rania Ghosn
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

El Hadi Jazairy
University of Michigan


Faculty Design Honorable Mentions

Church and Parish Center

Miguel Guitart
University At Buffalo, SUNY

Daniel Gimeno
Gimeno Guitart

Atlas of Another America: An Architectural Fiction

Keith Krumwiede
New Jersey Institute of Technology

Bluestone Church

Jungwoo Ji
Iowa State University

Post Rock

Meredith L. Miller &
Thom Moran
University of Michigan


DB-BusShelter DB-FoodTrip DB-PrestonEducation DB-Boling

Bus Shelter Prototypes

Christopher D. Trumble
University of Arizona

Food Trip Market Stall

Elizabeth Golden & Ray Villanueva
University of Washington

Preston Outdoor
Education Station

David Dowell
Kansas State University

Louder than a Bomb 2

Terry Boling
University of Cincinnati



HDE-ThirdPlaceEcologies HDE-Ozay

Third Place Ecologies

Stephen D. Luoni, Francisco J. Mejias Villatoro, David Marroquin Juarez, & Tanzil Idmam Shafique
University of Arkansas

Retrofitting the Rustbelt City

Erkin Özay
University At Buffalo, SUNY


Mo Zell PL-Herrmann

UWM SARUP Externship Program

Mo Zell
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Integrated Project Delivery Theater

Hans Curtis Herrmann, Emily M. McGlohn, & Michele Herrmann
Mississippi State University



Smart Geometries for Smart
Materials: Taming Thermobimetals
to Behave

Doris Sung
University of Southern California

ACSA would like to thank the awards jurors, board of directors, and JAE editorial board for their work in reviewing almost 200 submissions and selecting the above award winners. + View past winners

Stephen Vogel, U. of Detroit Mercy
Geraldine Forbes Isais, U. of New Mexico
Sharon Johnston, Johnston Marklee & Associates
Chere R. LeClair, LeClair Architects
Sarah Wahlgren, AIAS Rep.

Rachel Law, AIAS Rep.
Sarah Wahlgren, AIAS Rep.
Corey Griffin, Portland State U.
Magdalena Garmaz, Auburn U.

Carlos Reimers, Catholic U. of America
Nichole Wiedemann, U. of Texas at Austin
Maria Arquero De Alarcon, U. of Michigan

Rashida Ng, Temple U.
Michael Hughes, American U. of Sharjah
Vandana Baweja, U. of Florida


Kevin Alter, U. of Texas at Austin
Elizabeth Debs, RISD
Adrianne Steichen, PYATOK

Francisco Rodriguez-Suarez, U. de Puerto Rico
Elizabeth Danze, U. of Texas at Austin
Judith Sheine, U. of Oregon


Jori Erdman, Louisiana State U.
Marilys Nepomechie, Florida International U.
Julian Bonder, Roger Williams U.

Grace La, Harvard U.
Kelly Bair, U. of Illinois at Chicago
Dan Wheeler, U. of Illinois at Chicago

Francis Lyn, Florida Atlantic U.
Frank Flury, Illinois Institute of Technology
Linda Samuels, Washington University in St. Louis

Jeff Day, U. of Nebraska
John Cays, NJIT
Richard Borrelli, WBRC Architects Engineers
Lisa M. Chronister, City of Oklahoma City Planning Department

JAE Best Article Award Jury
JAE Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors

+ 2016-2017 ACSA Awards Program - View the original "Call for Nominations & Submissions"