Submission Deadline: June 2, 2021

2021 Steel Competition

Workplace Wellness & Open


April 7, 2021

Registration Deadline

June 2, 2021

Submission Deadline

Summer 2021

Winners Announced

Fall 2021

Publication of Summary Book


2021 Steel Competition

The American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) have selected the recipients of the 2021 Steel Design Student Competition. The competition recognizes eleven exceptional projects, in two categories, that explore a variety of issues related to the use of steel in design and construction.



Challenges architecture students to rethink the nature of working in a post-pandemic era and how to design for holistic physical and mental wellness for all the building’s inhabitants. We are asking you to go beyond the traditionally held singular focus on worker productivity and think about environments where everyone is safe and thrives.



Offers architecture students the opportunity to select a site and building program using steel as the primary material. This competition category permits the greatest amount of flexibility for any building type.

Participating Schools

The competition had over 1,200 participants from the following schools:

Academy of Art University, Arizona State University, Ball State University, Boston Architectural, College California College of the Arts (CCA), California Polytechnic State University, California State University, Sacramento, Carleton University, Catholic University of America, Clemson University, Cuesta College, Drury University, Florida A&M University, Florida International University, Howard University, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, Kean University, Kennesaw State University, Kent State University, Lawrence Technological University, Louisiana State University, Louisiana Tech University, Marywood University, Miami University, New York Institute of Technology, North Carolina State University, North Dakota State University, Oklahoma State University, Pennsylvania State University, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico, Prairie View A&M University, Pratt Institute School of Architecture, Ryerson University, Savannah College of Art & Design, Southern California Institute of Architecture, Southern Illinois University, Syracuse University, Texas A&M University, The University of Colorado Boulder, Tulane University, Universidad Ana G. Méndez, Université Laval, University of Arkansas, University of Cincinnati, University of Colorado Denver, University of Hawaii at Manoa, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, University of Miami, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, University of Texas at Arlington, University of Texas at Austin, University of Toronto, University of Virginia, Virginia Tech, Washington State University, Woodbury University

Competition Partners

Edwin Hernández
Programs Coordinator

Eric Wayne Ellis
Senior Director of Operations and Programs