AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion

Deadline: October 6, 2017

The AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education is awarded jointly by the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) to an individual, who must be living at the time of nomination, who has spent at least a decade primarily involved in architectural education, and whose primary contribution to architectural education has been on the North American continent.

  • The candidate shall have evidenced great depth, having a cumulative effect on a long line of students.
  • The candidate shall have evidenced great breadth, having influenced a wide range of students.
  • The candidate shall be a person whose activities have consistently directed themselves toward the future as well as the past.
  • The candidate shall have evidenced the ability to transcend specific areas of expertise or shall have made connections between areas, in the event that the candidate’s areas of focus might be considered circumscribed.
  • The candidate shall be widely known by the quality of his or her products: by those who also taught, by those who practiced architecture, and by those who perhaps did neither.

The entire submission must be submitted online by 5:00pm EDT on October 6, 2017. For detailed submission requirements please refer to the main AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion webpage.

Each submission shall contain the following information:

  • A one page nomination letter by the sponsor
  • A biography of the candidate not exceeding two pages
  • A statement of contributions not exceeding four pages
  • A roster of distinguished students
  • Supporting material (i.e., clippings, articles, etc.) relating to the purpose of the award not exceeding four pages
  • A maximum of 10 letters of support by those who know the quality of the nominee’s products: by those who also taught, by those who practiced architecture, and by those who perhaps did neither. Letters should be one page in length and explicit in their recommendation and contain specific reasons for support.

Selection & Presentation
A five-member committee consisting of two persons representing ACSA, two persons representing AIA, and a student representative from AIAS shall make the selection from among the candidates nominated. The ACSA representatives shall be appointed by the ACSA Board of Directors for a one-year term. The recipient shall receive a Topaz Medallion and certificate to be presented at the ACSA Annual Meeting by the Presidents of ACSA and AIA, and at the AIA National Convention and Expo. The recipient may use the title “Topaz Medallion, DPACSA” in perpetuity.


AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion webpage
Download the complete 2017-2018 ACSA Architecture Awards Program (PDF)
Topaz Laureates
+ College of Distinguished Professors (DPACSA webpage)

2017-2018 Topaz Medallion Jurors

AIA - Chere R. LeClair, Chair, LeClair Architects
AIA - Donna Kacmar, FAIA, University of Houston
AIAS - Don Keshika De Saram, AIAS President
ACSA - Toshiko Mori, Toshiko Mori Architect, PLLC
ACSA - Nader Tehrani, The Cooper Union,