2025 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion

Awarded to an individual who has had significant impact upon architectural education and the discipline and practice of architecture.

An AIA/ACSA Award.

Deadline: September 15, 2024


The AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education is awarded jointly by the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) to an individual who has had significant impact upon architectural education and the discipline and practice of architecture. It is the highest award the organizations make to an educator, and reflects their joint commitment to recognize service to the profession, academy, and society. The individual’s impact should be evident from peer recognized, broadly influential achievements, including but not limited to architectural projects, research and publication, and teaching.

Additional Criteria
  • The candidate must be living at the time of nomination.
  • The candidate must have spent at least a decade primarily involved in architectural education.
  • The candidate’s primary contributions to architectural education must be on the North American continent.
  • The candidate’s impact should be evident throughout the person’s career to date and projected to continue in the future.

The entire submission must be submitted online by September 15, 2024 at 5pm EST. through the AIA. For detailed submission requirements please refer to the AIA Honors and Awards webpage.

Each submission shall contain the following information:

  • A one page nomination letter by the sponsor
  • A biography of the candidate not exceeding two pages
  • A statement of contributions not exceeding four pages
  • A roster of distinguished students
  • Supporting material (i.e., clippings, articles, etc.) relating to the purpose of the award not exceeding four pages
  • A maximum of 10 letters of support by those who know the quality of the nominee’s products: by those who also taught, by those who practiced architecture, and by those who perhaps did neither. Letters should be one page in length and explicit in their recommendation and contain specific reasons for support.
2025 Topaz Jury






Selection & Presentation

A five-member committee consisting of two persons representing ACSA, two persons representing AIA, and a student representative from AIAS shall make the selection from among the candidates nominated. The ACSA representatives shall be appointed by the ACSA Board of Directors for a one-year term. The recipient shall receive a Topaz Medallion and certificate to be presented at the ACSA Annual Meeting by the Presidents of ACSA and AIA, and at the AIA National Convention and Expo. The recipient may use the title “Topaz Medallion, DPACSA” in perpetuity.


Edwin Hernández-Ventura
Programs Coordinator
tel: 202-785-2324
email: ehernandez@acsa-arch.org

Eric W. Ellis
Senior Director of Operations and Programs
tel: 202-785-2324
email: eellis@acsa-arch.org