2023 Architectural Education Award Winners

ACSA is pleased to announce the 2023 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector.

Read about all the winners below and in the PRESS RELEASE. Be sure to join us in celebrating the winners at the ACSA 111th Annual Meeting in St. Louis, MO, March 30 – April 1, 2023.

AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Architectural Education

Dr. Sharon Egretta Sutton, FAIA

Parsons School of Design
Distinguished Professor

Linda N. Groat

University of Michigan

Kent Kleinman

Brown University

Thomas Leslie

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign/Iowa State University

Joanna Lombard

University of Miami

Peter MacKeith

University of Arkansas
AIAS/ACSA New Faculty Teaching

Evan Shieh

Part-Time Faculty

New York Institute of Technology/Parsons School of Design

Shawn Bailey

Full-Time Faculty

University of Manitoba

César A. Lopez

Full-Time Faculty

University of New Mexico

Zahra Safaverdi

Full-Time Faculty | Honorable Mention

Texas Tech University
Diversity Achievement

Design as a Tool to Develop Social Agency

Milagros Zingoni | University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Oriana Gil Perez | Arizona State University
Oriana Venti & Sonia Garcia | Universidad de Oriente

Building Equality(ies) in Architecture North

Coalition Building Category | Honorable Mention

Shannon Bassett | Laurentian University

Drawing Out Stories

Impact Over Time Category | Honorable Mention

Dr. Jill Bambury, MRAIC | University of Hartford
Creative Achievement

Site, Matter, Ecology, and Indigenous Storywork

Adrian Phiffer | University of Toronto

Reenvisioning Everyday Architecture

Aki Ishida | Virginia Tech

Subjective Waters

Curry Hackett | University of Tennessee–Knoxville
Collaborative Practice

Deconstructing Blight

John Folan | University of Arkansas and Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS)

Five Points Alley

Terry Boling | University of Cincinnati

The Power of Place and Social Production

Julie Ju-Youn Kim | Georgia Institute of Technology

Environmental Justice at Bayview-Hunters Point

Margaret Ikeda & Evan Jones | California College of the Arts (CCA)
Faculty Design

Four Dioramas

Neyran Turan | University of California, Berkeley


John Folan | University of Arkansas and Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS)

CloudHouse Shade Pavilion

Iman Fayyad | Syracuse University

The Bronzeville Action Coalition

Honorable Mention

Neeraj Bhatia | California College of the Arts (CCA) & César A. Lopez | University of New Mexico

Stadium Rowhouses

Mary Hardin | University of Arizona

Omaha Mobile Stage

Jeffrey L. Day, FAIA | University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Circular Chromatics

Kyle Schumann | University of Virginia

The LivingRoom

Hans Herrmann, Cory Gallo, Abbey Wallace & Suzanne Powney | Mississippi State University
AIA/ACSA Practice + Leadership

Clipper Academy

Douglas Noble & Karen Kensek | University of Southern California
AIA/ACSA Housing Design Education

Housing America

Tricia Stuth, Ted Shelton, Clayton Adkisson & William Rosenthal | University of Tennessee-Knoxville

The New Attainable House

Honorable Mention

Jeffrey L. Day, FAIA & Frank Ordia | University of Nebraska-Lincoln
JAE Article Awards

A ‘Holding Place’


Janet McGaw, Alasdair Vance & Uncle Herb Patten | University of Melbourne

Equity & Dignity by Design

Design Essay

Deborah Richards & Angela M. Person | University of Oklahoma

Reframing Stories


Tania Gutiérrez-Monroy | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
TAD Research Contribution

On GANs, NLP and Architecture

Volume 5

Jeffrey Huang, Mikhael Johanes, Frederick Chando Kim, Christina Doumpioti & Georg-Christoph Holz
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne (EPFL)
Annual Meeting Best Paper & Best Project

Best Paper

Cultivating the Commons: Building Equitable and Resilient Transit Communities at Scale

Richard Mohler | University of Washington

Best Project

Corpus Comunis:
Precedent, Privacy, and the United States Supreme Court, in Seven Architectural Case Studies

Lindsey Krug | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


Topaz Jury
Karen Lu, Snow Kreilich Architects
Igor Marjanović, Rice University
Cooper Moore, AIAS
Kirk Narburgh, King + King Architects
Jennifer Yoos, University of Minnesota

Distinguished Professor Jury
Patricia Belton Oliver, University of Houston
Lisa Findley, California College of the Arts
Robert Gonzalez, University of New Mexico
Alison Kwok, University of Oregon
Stephen Luoni, University of Arkansas

New Faculty Teaching Jury
Nicole Bass, American Institute of Architecture Students
Kwesi Daniels, Tuskegee University
Cathi Ho Schar, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Irene Vu, American Institute of Architecture Students

Diversity Achievement Jury
Catherine Hamel, University of Calgary
Karen Kubey, Pratt Institute
Kiwana McClung, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Collaborative Practice Jury
Kwesi Daniels, Tuskegee University
Hans Herrmann, Mississippi State University
Susan Piedmont-Palladino, Virginia Tech

Housing Design Education Jury
Patricia Andrasik, The Catholic University of America
Ming Hu, University of Maryland
Richard Mohler, University of Washington
Antje Steinmuller, California College of the Arts

Creative Achievement Jury
Marcelo López-Dinardi, Texas A&M University
Maria Paz Gutierrez, University of California, Berkeley
Rosalyne Shieh, MIT Architecture

Faculty Design Jury
Judith De Jong, University of Illinois at Chicago
Miguel Guitart, University at Buffalo, SUNY
Catherine Hamel, University of Calgary
Seung Ra, Oklahoma State University
Ulysses Sean Vance, Temple University

Design-Build Jury
Peter Aeschbacher, Pennsylvania State University
Shelby Doyle, Iowa State University
Jason Griffiths, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Practice & Leadership Jury
Suzanne Frasier, Morgan State University
Federico Garcia Lammers, University of Minnesota
Sophia A. Gruzdys, 2022 President, AIA Continental Europe
Gundula Proksch, University of Washington

JAE Article Awards Jury
JAE Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors

TAD Research Contribution Award Jury
TAD Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors

Best Paper & Best Project Jury
ACSA College of Distinguished Professor
ACSA Board of Directors

Congratulations to all the award winners!

View the original Call for Nominations & Submissions