2021 Architectural Education Award Winners

ACSA is pleased to announce the 2021 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector.

Read about all the winners below and in the PRESS RELEASE. Be sure to join us in celebrating the winners virtually at the ACSA 109th Annual Meeting on March 24-26, 2021.

AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Architectural Education

Kathryn H. Anthony

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Distinguished Professor

Julio Bermudez

Catholic University of America

Renee Y. Chow

University of California, Berkeley

Bradford Grant

Howard University

Alison Kwok

University of Oregon

Kenneth Schwartz

Tulane University
ACSA/AIAS New Faculty Teaching

Omar Al-Hassawi

Washington State University

María González Aranguren

University of Virginia

Cathi Ho Schar

University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
Diversity Achievement

From Settler Colonies to Black Utopias:
The Dialectics of American Architecture in Black and White

Charles Davis | University At Buffalo, SUNY
Diversity Achievement Honorable Mention

Women’s Reunion + Symposium

Sara Bartumeus Ferre, Marci Uihlein, & Andrea Melgarejo De Berry | University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Creative Achievement

Kinesthetic Montage Hong Kong

Esther Lorenz | University of Virginia

Waste Matters

Nikole Bouchard | University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Collaborative Practice

An Atlas of Commoning

Stefan Gruber | Carnegie Mellon University

Cultivating the Future: Enabling, Designing, Constructing & Managing a Didactic Garden

Hans Herrmann, Cory Gallo, Suzanne Powney, Peter Summerlin, & Lee Carson | Mississippi State University

The Field of Dreams Ecocommunity in Utah

Jörg Rügemer | University of Utah
Faculty Design

ALFAMA 2.0 // RE-habilitation // RE-vitalization // RE-structuration //

María González Aranguren | University of Virginia

Drawing Fields

Erik Herrmann & Ashley Bigham | The Ohio State University

New Investigations in Collective Form

Neeraj Bhatia | California College of the Arts (CCA) & Cesar Lopez | University of New Mexico
Faculty Design Honorable Mention

All Access

John Folan | University of Arkansas and Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS) with PROJECT RE_

Expanded Views, With Rooms

Megan Panzano | Harvard University

The Ripple Effects - Martin Luther King, Jr. & Coretta Scott King Memorial

Julian Bonder | Roger Williams University, Krzysztof Wodiczko & Maryann Thompson | Harvard University, & Walter Hood | University of California, Berkeley

2 Projects in 12 Constraints

Felipe Mesa | Arizona State University

Negotiation Tables

John Folan | University of Arkansas and Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS)


Patrick Rhodes, Gregory Spaw, & Lamya Al Qassimi | American University of Sharjah
AIA/ACSA Practice + Leadership


Emilie Taylor | Tulane University

Research-Based Design | Arch 563: Building Science Research Topics

Corey Griffin | Pennsylvania State University
AIA/ACSA Housing Design Education

Cooperative Housing for the 2000-Watt Society - Neighborhoods as Commons

Stefan Gruber | Carnegie Mellon University

Neighborhoods for All: Expanding Housing Opportunity in Seattle's Single-Family Zones

Richard Mohler | University of Washington & Bradley Khouri | b9 architects

Re-Live Downtown Pine Bluff

Stephen Luoni | University of Arkansas
JAE Best Article

Taking Stock | Design as Scholarship

Ang Li | Northeastern University

Beyond Participation: Rethinking Social Design | Scholarship of Design

Gabriel Arboleda | Amherst College

Images Doing Work:
Construction Photography at the Tuskegee Institute and Black Mountain College | Micronarrative

Anna Goodman | Portland State University & Maura Lucking | University of California, Los Angeles
TAD Research Contribution

Backyard Housing Boom:
New Markets for Affordable Housing and the Role of Digital Technology | Volume 3

Alysia Bennett | Monash University, Dana Cuff & Gus Wendel | University of California, Los Angeles
Annual Meeting Best Paper & Best Project

Best Paper | Marble & Lead:
Aldo Moro, Luigi Moretti, and the Bunker Courtroom of the Foro Mussolini

Jeffrey Balmer | University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Best Project | Practicing Engagement: A Post-COVID Field Report

Cathi Ho Schar & Dan Milz | University of Hawai'i at Mānoa


Topaz Jury
Carol Ross BarneyIllinois Institute of Technology
Erin ContiIllinois Institute of Technology
Donna W. DunayVirginia Polytechnic Institute
Thomas FisherUniversity of Minnesota
Danielle McDonoughCambridge Seven Associates, Inc.

Distinguished Professor Jury
Anne Bordeleau, University of Waterloo
Thomas Fowler IV, California Polytechnic State University
Patricia Belton Oliver, University of Houston

New Faculty Teaching Jury
Sharon Haar, University of Michigan
Gundula Proksch, University of Washington
Annie Ringhofer, University of Kansas
Sara Taketatsu, American Institute of Architecture Students

Diversity Achievement Jury
Nadia Anderson, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Irene Cheng, California College of the Arts
Francis Lyn, Florida Atlantic University

Collaborative Practice Jury
Aziza Chaouni, University of Toronto
Courtney Crosson, University of Arizona
Nils Gore, University of Kansas

Housing Design Education Jury
R. Denise Everson, American Institute of Architects
Peter Keyes, University of Oregon
Anne-Marie Lubenau, Rudy Bruner Award
Tricia Stuth, University of Tennessee

Creative Achievement Jury
Robert A. González, University of New Mexico
Kelly Bair, University of Illinois at Chicago
Peter Aeschbacher, Pennsylvania State University

Faculty Design Jury
Jeff Day, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Mimi Sullivan, Academy of Art University
Marc Swackhamer, University of Colorado Denver

Design-Build Jury
Jörg Rügemer, University of Utah
Bradford Watson, Montana State University
Christopher Trumble, University of Arizona

Practice & Leadership Jury
Patricia Andrasik, Catholic University of America
Coleman Coker, University of Texas at Austin
Roderick Fluker, Tuskegee University
Antje Steinmuller, California College of the Arts

JAE Best Article Award Jury
JAE Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors

TAD Research Contribution Award Jury
TAD Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors

Best Paper & Project Jury
ACSA College of Distinguished Professor
ACSA Board of Directors

Congratulations to all the award winners!

View the original Call for Nominations & Submissions