April 9, 2021 | 3:00pm ET / 12:00pm PT

Alternative Frameworks for Architectural Practice: The Cooperative Network

Workshop + ACSA109 Annual Meeting

April 9, 2021

3:00–6:00pm EST / 12:00-3:00pm PST

Alternative Frameworks for Architectural Practice: The Cooperative Network

This workshop explores the potential of cooperative models in architecture, which espouse collaboration in lieu of competition. These models leverage resource and knowledge distribution as alternatives to prevailing free-market modes of contemporary practice. By rethinking the profession in terms of the social, economic, and political potential offered by these practices, architects may foreground care over profit and commonized use-values over exchange values in order to create more equitable, just, and livable communities. In this workshop, members of the Architecture Lobby guide attendees through a series of explorations to collectively deepen our understanding of cooperative models in architectural practice.

Recording coming soon…