OU Architecture Faculty Successes Acknowledged at 2023 AIA Oklahoma Awards


Five full-time OU Architecture faculty were recognized at the 2023 AIA Honor Awards Celebration, held Sept. 15 at the First National Center in Oklahoma City. The AIA Oklahoma Honor Awards Program recognizes exceptional members for their distinguished leadership and commitment to the quality of life in Oklahoma. The ceremony took place on Sept. 15, 2023, at the First National Center in downtown Oklahoma City.

Ron Frantz – AIA Oklahoma Award for Lifetime Achievement

Frantz received the AIA Oklahoma Award for Lifetime Achievement, which recognizes a lifetime of distinguished leadership and dedication in Architecture and the community. This award is AIA Oklahoma’s highest honor.

Dan Butko – AIA Oklahoma Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions

Butko received the AIA Oklahoma Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions, which recognizes architectural educators who have positively influenced a wide range of students and have maintained relevance by directing students toward the future while drawing on the past.

Deborah Richards – AIA Oklahoma Award for Community Service

Richards received the AIA Oklahoma Award for Community Service, which recognizes an extended commitment to community service or significant contribution evidenced in a positive impact on urban, environmental or neighborhood issues.

OFFICIAL, Amy and Mark Leveno – AIA Oklahoma Honor Awards for Interior Architecture

OFFICIAL received two Honor Awards in the Interior Architecture category for their work on Civitas Capitol Group and Houndstooth Coffee MLK. The Honor Award is the AIA’s highest level of award and recognizes projects with distinctive character and outstanding merit.

Butzer Architects and Urbanism, Hans Butzer – AIA Oklahoma Merit Awards and AIA Central States Citation Awards

Butzer Architects and Urbanism, an award-winning firm led by Hans E. Butzer, dean of Gibbs College, and his partner Torrey Butzer, won two Merit Awards, which recognize projects that clearly demonstrate a level of design that exemplifies superior achievements. The firm also received three Citation Awards, which are given to projects of notable accomplishment with excellent design qualities.