Professor Appointed to National Architectural Accrediting Board


The University of Nebraska’s College of Architecture is pleased to announce Professor Jeffrey L Day, FAIA, NCARB has been appointed as a director for the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB).

Nominated by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), Day joins four other new directors who will be starting their term October 29, 2022. The NAAB board has 13 voting members. The ACSA, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) each nominate three directors; the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) nominates two; and there are two public directors. The NAAB Board meets at least three times a year to consider official business including accreditation decisions.

NAAB accredits professional degrees in architecture offered by institutions accredited by a U.S. regional accrediting agency. All 55 U.S. registration boards accept the NAAB-accredited degree for registration; 38 of those boards require it. This honor builds upon Day’s long record of engagement with professional organizations including his national election as an at-large board member of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) in 2019; and his recent induction to the 2021 NCARB Scholars in Professional Practice Program.

Day has also garnered numerous awards including the Architectural League of New York’s 2016 Emerging Voices; a 2019 Progressive Architecture Award; Architectural Record’s 2009 Design Vanguard; the 2007 AIA California Council’s Emerging Talent award; New Practices San Francisco 2009; Residential Architect’s 2010 Rising Star; over 60 national, regional and state AIA design awards; nine ACSA design awards and more. Day’s work is published in a wide range of journals, design magazines and books.

In 2019, Day was elevated to Fellowship in the American Institute of Architects, the highest membership honor in the AIA bestowed on only 3 percent of member architects. “Our faculty members are extremely devoted to guiding the future direction of the professions not only by educating emerging professionals but also by being intrinsically engaged in the direction of the allied professions ensuring a continued positive trajectory,” said Interim Dean Sharon Kuska.