August 24, 2021

JAE Fellows Program Awarded 2021 Graham Foundation Grant


JAE Fellows Program Awarded Graham Foundation Grant

Supporting Yearlong Fellowships for BIPOC Writers and Designers

For Immediate Release:
Washington, D.C., August 24, 2021—The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture is pleased to announce the Journal of Architectural Education as the recipient of a 2021 Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts grant for the development of the JAE Fellows program. This funding will allow the JAE to grant yearlong fellowships to support the research of Black, Native/Indigenous, and other authors of color, and create an online platform to publish their projects on We are proud to join a global network of individuals and organizations that the Graham Foundation has supported over the past 65 years.

The JAE Fellows Program was developed to respond to the recognized need for further structural support of Black, Native/Indigenous Peoples, and other people of color in architectural discourse. The fellowships would focus support on BIPOC writers and designers—whether individually or in a collective—who are not affiliated full-time with a university. Fellows will be selected by a jury of mentors based upon their proposal, which will define the scope of their project.

JAE encourages the expansion of architectural discourse by Fellows through nontraditional presentation methods, including primarily visual work, collectively authored work, documentary work, and other writing genres. Fellows’ work will be published on JAE’s website (, which is freely accessible. Additional programming is planned to highlight the Fellows’ work, such as webinars, interviews, online conversations, and other events to engage a broader public, including students, and to open an expansive discourse on the future of disciplinary scholarship and publication. In September, the JAE Fellows Jury of Mentors will work together with JAE editors and ACSA’s executive director to collectively author this Call for Fellows, opening the Call in October.

The Jury of Mentors comprises eleven prominent designers, historians, artists, architects, and educators: Neeraj Bhatia, Jay Cephas, Sarah Deyong, Nathalie Frankowski, Cruz Garcia, Joyce Hwang, Jennifer Newsom, Ivonne Santoyo-Orozco, Mitchell Squire, Thena Tak, and Huda Tayob.

Read more on the Graham Foundation Website.

About the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture 
Founded in 1912, the mission of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) is to lead architectural education and research. ACSA provides venues for international peer review and recognition in the form of scholarly journals, conferences, awards, and student design competitions. ACSA provides intelligence and insight for our members through data collection and analysis, and we work to enhance teaching and research across the discipline through our volunteer members and often in partnership with peer organizations around the world. ACSA designs activities to shape the future of architecture by empowering faculty to understand and act within a dynamic world. Similarly, ACSA engages with prospective students and their families through, a portal to learn about the path into the profession and to connect directly with member schools.

About the Journal of Architectural Education
The Journal of Architectural Education is a biannual peer-reviewed academic journal published by Routledge, Taylor & Francis on behalf of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. The JAE has been the primary venue for research and commentary on architectural education since it was founded in 1947, making it the oldest continuing operating journal of its kind.

About the Graham Foundation
Founded in 1956, the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts
fosters the development and exchange of diverse and challenging ideas about
architecture and its role in the arts, culture, and society.


Amanda Gann
Creative Lead of Communications and Marketing