2020 Architectural Education Award Winners

ACSA is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector.

Read about all the winners below and in the PRESS RELEASE. Be sure to join us in celebrating the winners at the ACSA 108th Annual Meeting in San Diego, March 12-14, 2020.

AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Architectural Education

David Leatherbarrow

University of Pennsylvania
Distinguished Professor

Gail Dubrow

University of Minnesota

Karen Kensek

University of Southern California

Stephen D. Luoni

University of Arkansas

Vikramaditya Prakash

University of Washington

Richard Sommer

University of Toronto
ACSA/AIAS New Faculty Teaching

Jacob Mans

University of Minnesota
Diversity Achievement

_mpathic design: pedagogy, initiative, practice

Elgin Cleckley | University of Virginia

The Work: USC Architecture’s Diversity and Inclusion Plan

Amy Murphy & Lauren Matchison | University of Southern California
Creative Achievement

Iowa State University Computation + Construction Lab (CCL)

Shelby Doyle | Iowa State University

Fabricating Customization

Jeremy Ficca | Carnegie Mellon University

The Future of the Netsch Campus

Judith De Jong | University of Illinois at Chicago
Collaborative Practice

Waipahu Transit-Oriented Development (TOD) Collaboration

Cathi Ho Schar & Waipahu TOD Collaboration Team | University of Hawaiʻi Community Design Center

Urban Acupuncture for Community Forge

Stefan Gruber | Carnegie Mellon University

Sustainability Laboratory and Urban Garden (SLUG)

Linda Samuels | Washington University in St. Louis & Christopher Trumble | University of Arizona
Faculty Design

City Thread

Molly Hunker & Gregory Corso | Syracuse University

Buoyant Ecologies Float Lab

Adam Marcus, Margaret Ikeda, & Evan Jones | California College of the Arts

Shaped Places of Carroll County New Hampshire

McLain Clutter & Cyrus Penarroyo | University of Michigan

Swissness Applied Exhibition

Nicole McIntosh & Jonathan Louie | Texas A&M University
Faculty Design Honorable Mention

Salvage Swings

Jessica Colangelo & Charles Sharpless | University of Arkansas

Close to the Edge: The Birth of Hip-Hop Architecture

Sekou Cooke | Syracuse University

Ashes & Ashes Cabin

Leslie Lok & Sasa Zivkovic | Cornell University


Adam Modesitt | Tulane University

Tarkeeb Gatehouse + Garden

Michael Hughes & William Sarnecky | American University of Sharjah

ASHED - The South Sioux City Community Orchard Facility

Jason Griffiths | University of Nebraska-Lincoln
AIA/ACSA Practice + Leadership

UHCDC: Exploring Public Sector Practice

Cathi Ho Schar & University of Hawaiʻi Community Design Center | UH Manoa

Forensics Studio

Federico Garcia Lammers | South Dakota State University
AIA/ACSA Housing Design Education

Between Neighbors: Staging Domesticity in Multifamily Housing.

Katie MacDonald | University of Tennessee-Knoxville

New Domesticities New Collectivities

Jonathan Rule & Kathy Velikov | University of Michigan

Over Under In Between: Affordable Housing within an Industrial Ecology

Jason Carlow | American University of Sharjah
JAE Best Article

Constructing Mystery | Design as Scholarship

Yael Erel | Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Atmospheric Pressures | Scholarship of Design

Susanneh Bieber | Texas A&M University

Growing Up Modern – Oral History as Architectural Preservation | Micronarrative

Julia Jamrozik | University at Buffalo, SUNY
TAD Research Contribution

Benchmarking the Embodied Carbon of Buildings | Volume 1

Kathrina Simonen, Barbara X. Rodriguez Droguett, & Catherine De Wolf | University of Washington

Experiments Toward Hyper-Local Reverse Heat Flow Assemblies | Volume 2

Lars Junghans, Daniel Tish, Dustin Brugmann, Kathy Velikov, Geoffrey Thün | University of Michigan
Annual Meeting Best Paper & Best Project

Best Paper | A Biophilic Approach to Net-Positive Design

Mary Guzowski | University of Minnesota

Best Project | Between Living and Consuming the Territory

Marcel Sanchez-Prieto & Adriana Cuellar | Woodbury University & University of San Diego

Best Paper Honorable Mention | Hugo Häring’s “Philosophy of Gestalt”

Liyang Ding | University of Pennsylvania

Best Project Honorable Mention | Isochronic Mountains

Joshua Stein | Woodbury University

Topaz Jury
Evelyn M. Lee, AIA
Renée Cheng, University of Washington
Robert Greenstreet, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Phoebe A. Crisman, University of Virginia
Sarah Curry, AIAS

Distinguished Professor Jury
Francisco Rodriguez-Suarez, Universidad de Puerto Rico
Branko Kolarevic, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Dana Buntrock, University of California, Berkley

New Faculty Teaching Jury
Adam Fogel, AIAS
Bethany Lundell Garver, Boston Architectural College
Jeffrey Day, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Stephanie Handy, Andrews University

Diversity Achievement Jury
Robert Gonzalez, Texas Tech University
Lori Brown, Syracuse University
Andrew Chin, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University

Collaborative Practice Jury
June Williamson, City College of New York
María Arquero de Alacrón, University of Michigan
Erin Moore, University of Oregon

Housing Design Education Jury
Pavlina Ilieva, Morgan State University
Gregory Marinic, University of Cincinnati
Ray Demers, Enterprise Community Partners
Etty Padmodipoetro, Urban Idea Lab

Creative Achievement Jury
Nichole Wiedemann, University of Texas at Austin
Dawn Finley, Rice University
Tracey Eve Winton, University of Waterloo

Faculty Design Jury
Rania Ghosn, MIT Architecture
Courtney Crosson, University of Arizona
Jennifer Bonner, Harvard University

Design-Build Jury
Lonn Combs, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Emily Baker, University of Arkansas
Elizabeth Golden, University of Washington

Practice & Leadership Jury
Dana Buntrock, University of California, Berkeley
Jose Gamez, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Richard Mohler, University of Washington

JAE Best Article Award Jury
JAE Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors

TAD Research Contribution Award Jury
TAD Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors

Congratulations to all the award winners!

View the original Call for Nominations & Submissions