2018 Architectural Education Award Winners

ACSA is pleased to announce the 2017-2018 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector. Congratulations to all the award winners!

Read about the winning submissions below, and be sure to join us in celebrating the winners in Denver at the 106th ACSA Annual Meeting.
AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Architectural Education

Jorge Silvetti

Harvard University
Distinguished Professor

Dana Buntrock

University of California, Berkeley

Renee Cheng

University of Minnesota

Judith Kinnard

Tulane University

Marilys Nepomechie

Florida International University

John Ronan

Illinois Institute of Technology
ACSA/AIAS New Faculty Teaching

Ashlie Latiolais

University of Louisiana, Lafayette

Danielle Willkens

Auburn University
Creative Achievement

Mark Keane & Linda Keane

School of the Art Institute of Chicago & University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Julie Larsen

Syracuse University

Shahin Vassigh

Florida International University
Collaborative Practice

Let’s Talk

Aziza Chaouni | University of Toronto

Cultural Construction

John E. Folan | Carnegie Mellon University & Urban Design Build Studio


Rhode Island School of Design Architecture Team

NavAdapt Lab

John E. Folan | Carnegie Mellon University & Urban Design Build Studio
Faculty Design


Jennifer Newsom, University of Minnesota | Tom Carruthers, Dream the Combine


Ana Morcillo Pallares & Jonathan Rule | University of Michigan


Molly Hunker & Gregory Corso | Syracuse University

Vegas Altas Congress Center

Luis Pancorbo & Ines Martin | University of Virginia

Black Shed

Taiji Miyasaka, Max Kirk, David Drake, & Paul Hirzel | Washington State University

Sonoran Pentapus S·cape

Christopher D. Trumble | University of Arizona

Waldo Duplex

Kansas State University Team

Confluence Hall

William Koning & Rick Sommerfeld | University of Colorado Denver
AIA/ACSA Practice + Leadership

Professional Practice Class

Renee Cheng | University of Minnesota

Career Investment Program

Stephen White & Gregory Laramie | Roger Williams University

Downtown Tucson 2050 Plan

Courtney Crosson | University of Arizona
AIA/ACSA Housing Design Education

Endowed Housing Studio

Joe Colistra | University of Kansas

Baltimore Housing Studio

Pavlina Ilieva | Morgan State University

Living Together

Antje K. Steinmuller & Neeraj Bhatia | California College of the Arts
JAE Best Article

Architecture in Support of Citizenry

Clare Robinson | University of Arizona

Scaling for Non-Expert Production

Jacob Mans | University of Minnesota

ACSA would like to thank the awards jurors, board of directors, and JAE editorial board for their work in reviewing almost 200 submissions and selecting the above award winners. View past winners.

Topaz Jury 
Chere R. LeClair, LeClair Architects
Donna Kacmar, U. of Houston
Don Keshika De Saram, AIAS President
Toshiko Mori, Toshiko Mori Architect, PLLC
Nader Tehrani, The Cooper Union

New Faulty Teaching Jury
Elizabeth Seidel, American Institute of Architecture Students
Tori Hertz, California Polytechnic State U., San Luis Obispo
Corey Griffin, Portland State U.
Ikhlas Sabouni, Prairie View A&M U.

Diversity Achievement Jury
Craig Barton, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Alexis Gregory, Mississippi State U.
Maria Isabel Oliver, Polytechnic U. of Puerto Rico

Collaborative Practice Jury
Beth Lundell Garver, Boston Architectural College
Carie Ann Penabad, U. of Miami
Nils Gore, U. of Kansas

Housing Design Education Jury
Francisco J. Rodriguez, U. De Puerto Rico
Lorena del Rio, California College of the Arts
Simon Ha, Steinberg
Raymond Demers, Enterprise Community Partners

Distinguished Professor Jury 
Bruce Lindsey, Washington U. in St. Louis
Lars Lerup, Rice U.
Frances Bronet, Illinois Institute of Technology

Creative Achievement Jury

Martin Bressani, McGill U.
José L.S. Gámez, U. of North Carolina at Charlotte
Lydia Kallipoliti, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Faculty Design Jury
Jude Le Blanc, Georgia Institute of Technology
Nichole Wiedemann, U. of Texas at Austin
Christian Dagg, Auburn U.

Design Build Jury
Michael Hughes, American U. of Sharjah
Tricia A. Stuth, U. of Tennessee-Knoxville
Francisco Gutiérrez, U. De Puerto Rico

Practice & Leadership Jury
Lance Jay Brown, City College of New York
Rashida Ng, Temple U.
Elizabeth Eason, Elizabeth Eason Architecture
Ian Merker, AIA National Young Architects Forum

JAE Best Article Award Jury
JAE Editorial Board
ACSA Board of Directors