ACSA is pleased to announce the winners of the International Sustainable Laboratory Student Design Competition for the 2011-2012 academic year. Inspired by the success of the Laboratories for the 21st Century (Labs21) Student Design Competition (2003-2004), the International Institute for Sustainable Laboratories (I2SL) co-sponsored the program with the Office of Insular Affairs (OIA) of the U.S. Department of the Interior in collaboration with the Joint Institute for Caribbean Marine Studies (JICMS). The competition was administered, coordinated and conducted by ACSA. 

This competition enabled architecture and engineering students from around the world to provide new and innovative thinking in the creation of energy-efficient and environmentally-sustainable laboratories. The program focused on the proposed Salt River Bay Marine Research and Education Center (MREC), located within Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve (SARI) a unit of the National Park Service (NPS) on the island of St. Croix in the U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI).

The competition winners will be featured during the Labs21 2012 Annual Conference in San Jose, California, October 2 through 4, 2012. The winning designs will be on display throughout the event and the competition winners will have the opportunity to present their winning designs to the audience of more than 700 laboratory and other high-tech facility professionals. 

Alison Farmer, Andelman and Lelek Engineering, Inc.
Ken Kornberg, Kornberg Associates Architects
Paul Mathew, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Steve Meder, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Arleen O'Donnell, Eastern Research Group, Inc.

Juror Comments: The jury recognizes the complexity of this design challenge. The effective solution must synthesize the stringent demands of a laboratory with the other programmatic elements that include:

• Resident and visitor accommodations; 
• Historical and cultural context;
• Specifics of protecting a threatened coastal environment;
• Large-scale considerations of energy, resources, ecological and social systems of an island environment;
• Climatically appropriate passive design, material and water components that are value-added strategies;
• Energy design solutions that demonstrate a progressive understanding of lab energy efficiencies while developing a net-zero carbon debt. 

The overarching challenge of this competition is for the successful teams to exhibit their understanding of these compelling issues and to develop an amalgamated design strategy that leads to an architectural expression that is innovative, exciting and embedded with a sense of responsibility and performance that are parametrically based. 

The jurors recognize and applaud the commitment, creativity and massive efforts from all the design teams. There were many exciting proposals and almost every team brought valuable concepts to the competition. The jury would like to thank all of the teams for their valued contributions. Among the many entries several rose to the top for their integrative design solutions.  

The competition entries provided an informative cross-sectional view of architectural design education in 2012. Some designs demonstrated a strong competency in digitally generated form-making applications.  Other entries exhibited strengths in environmental analysis, energy and passive design parametrics. As computational capacities expand the design process, we expect to see in future competitions, a greater convergence of building performance parameters with digitally generated morphologies.  

The jury selected two winners and three honorable mentions. Click on the images below to view the project details:


Project title: Modular Sustainability
Students: Dan Addis, John Kim, Jensen Ying
Faculty Sponsor: Gary P. Moshier
School: Carnegie Mellon University

Jury Comments: This project shows a well-documented and thorough sustainable systems analysis and demonstrates a thoughtful, integrated approach to the design process. The submission includes a straightforward and clear design presentation with a contextual and understated architectural statement. The proposed lab systems, particularly the HVAC systems, are practical and site specific, while the design of the community space is creative and inviting.


Project title: MR + EC
Faculty Sponsor: Ulrike Heine
Students: Caitlin Ranson, Dianah Katzenberger
School: Clemson University

Jury Comments: This project demonstrates sensitive site planning and architectural design, including a compact use of the site. It takes advantage of natural resources in its use of solar thermal design, photovoltaic panels, daylighting, and rainwater collection. The project also adapts to extreme weather conditions and incorporates passive design with a clear building performance analysis. There is a logical hybrid system approach to natural and conditioned spaces. 



Project Title: ZeroEnergyResearchOutlook
Faculty Sponsor: Gary P. Moshier
Student: Won Seok Chu
School: Carnegie Mellon University


Project Title: EnviroLAB: A Response to Natural Forces
Faculty Sponsor: Paola Sanguinetti, University of Kansas
Students: Taylor Maine, Sara Lichti, Ike Chinonso Onyekachi, Arthur Joel Herman
School: University of Kansas


Project Title: LAND_AND_SEE
Faculty Sponsor: Jan B. Zwiejski
Students: Nicola Bötsch, Lionel Herinckx
School: Université Laval 


ACSA would like to thank all member schools for their continued support and participation in our student design competitions:

Arizona State University, Ball State University, California Polytechnic State University, Caribbean School of Architecture, Carnegie Mellon University, City College of New York, Clemson University, Georgia Institute of Technology, IE University, Iowa State University, Laval University, Lawrence Technological University, Manchester School of Architecture, Marywood University, Norwalk Community College, Ohio State University, Pennsylvania State University, Roger Williams University, Texas A&M University, Universite De Montreal, University of British Columbia, University of Houston, University of Idaho, University of Kansas, University of Michigan, University of New Mexico, University of Notre Dame, University of South Florida, University of Southern California, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, University of Texas at Austin, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, UVM Guadalajara Sur, & Woodbury University

Eric W. Ellis, Director of Operations and Programs
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture
1735 New York Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20006
Tel: 202.785.2324