January 14, 2021

Call for Nominations: 2021 ACSA Nominees to the NAAB Board of Directors

Call for Nominations

2021 ACSA Nominees to the NAAB Board of Directors

Deadline: February 24, 2021

The ACSA Board of Directors invites nominations for service on the NAAB Board of Directors. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) is comprised of fourteen members: three nominated by ACSA, three nominated by AIA, three nominated by NCARB, two nominated by AIAS, two public members nominated by ACSA, AIA, NCARB, or AIAS, and a past president. Currently, Marilys Nepomechie (Florida International University), Rebecca O’Neal Dagg (Auburn University), and Michaele Pride (University of New Mexico) are the ACSA-nominated NAAB directors. 

The appointment is for a three-year term (October 2021–October 2024) and calls for a person willing and able to make a commitment to NAAB. See below for background information on the NAAB board, provided by NAAB. ACSA seeks to nominate multiple individuals for this position, allowing the NAAB board to decide which of the nominees would serve in the position.

Previous experience with ACSA as a board member or volunteer is considered helpful but is not required for nomination. Similarly, experience serving on NAAB visiting teams is considered helpful but not a requirement. NAAB has significantly revised its accreditation conditions and procedures to rely more on program self-assessment. Relevant experience with educational assessment is thus desirable. Faculty and administrators are invited to nominate individuals with some or all of the following qualifications:

  • Full-time status (with tenure at schools where it is offered) at an ACSA full or candidate member school;
  • Significant experience with and knowledge of the accreditation process;
  • Significant experience with outcome-based educational assessment, particularly self-assessment by programs;
  • Significant acquaintance with the range of school and program types across North America;
  • Willingness to represent the constituency of ACSA on accreditation-related issues; and
  • Ability to work with the NAAB and ACSA boards to build consensus on accreditation-related issues.

ACSA seeks nominations from faculty at a range of schools, including public/private institutions, research-intensive institutions, special-focus institutions, and minority-serving institutions. As well, we encourage nominations of faculty who are familiar with (a) ACSA’s recent efforts to support architecture schools seeking to be more equitable and inclusive for faculty and students from all backgrounds, and (b) with ACSA’s efforts to support the recognition of a wide range of approaches to research and scholarship, including creative practice. 

For consideration, please submit a concise letter of nomination or self-nomination outlining the nominee’s interest and experience, a two-page CV indicating the nominee’s experience in reference to the criteria above, and, if not a self-nomination, a letter from the nominee indicating a willingness to serve. Materials are due by February 24, 2021.

Nominations should be sent by email attachment in PDF format to Michelle Sturges, Membership Manager, msturges@acsa-arch.org. Subject Line: NAAB Director. 


Michelle Sturges
Membership Manager