November 15, 2019

The ACSA Board of Directors approved a preliminary slate of candidates for the 2020 Election to the board at its November 9–10 meeting. The candidates came from an open call for nominations and self-nominations reviewed by the board’s Nominations Committee.

In accordance with our election procedures, ACSA members have the opportunity to petition to add candidates to the slate, following procedures outlined below. The petition period closes on December 27, 2019, at 5 pm Pacific time. The final slate of candidates and election materials are scheduled for release on January 8, 2020. All ACSA Full members are eligible to vote on all positions. The results of this election will be announced publicly online soon after the February 7, 2020, ballot deadline, and introduced at the ACSA Annual Meeting in San Diego in March.

Second Vice President
Sharon Haar, University of Michigan
Michaele Pride, University of New Mexico

Ulrike Altenmüller-Lewis, Drexel University
Antje Steinmuller, California College of the Arts

At-Large Director
John Folan, University of Arkansas
Gundula Proksch, University of Washington

Petition Procedures
Any faculty member of an ACSA Full or Candidate member school may submit a petition nominating another eligible candidate for the above open board positions. Each petition must include a letter of nomination outlining the candidate’s qualifications and interest in the position and the names and email addresses of at least 10 faculty members from 10 different ACSA Full or Candidate member schools who attest to supporting the candidate’s nomination. (In total, there must be at least 10 faculty from 10 schools total who sign the petition, and the petition must be delivered as a single package.) The petition shall also include a statement of interest from the nominee and curriculum vitae or biographical statement. The Nominations Committee shall review all qualified petitions and prepare a report to the Board of Directors confirming eligibility of the petitioners.



  • December 27, 2019 – Deadline for submission of petitions to add candidates to the slate
  • January 8, 2020 – Final slate of candidates and ballot materials published and sent to ACSA Full Member schools
  • February 7, 2020 – Deadline for ballot submissions

Nominations by Petition
Email (preferred):
Michael Monti, ACSA Executive Director
ACSA Nominations, 1735 New York Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20006