COTE Top Ten for Students: Competition Winners
Program honors exceptional student design projects that showcase innovation in sustainability.

Contact Amanda Gann: (202) 785-2324 or


For Immediate Release:
Washington, D.C. – April 22, 2019 – The American Institute of Architects Committee on the Environment (AIA COTE) in partnership with the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), are announcing award recipients of the 2019 AIA COTE Top Ten for Students Competition.

The competition recognizes ten exceptional studio projects that integrate creative and innovative design strategies working towards achieving carbon-neutral operations through daylighting, passive heating and cooling systems, sustainable materials, water conservation, energy generation, and other sustainable systems.

The program challenged students to submit projects that use a thoroughly integrated approach to architecture, natural systems, and technology to provide design solutions that protect and enhance the environment. Award recipients for this year’s COTE Top Ten for Students Competition are:

ACCLIMATE: Philip Riazzi, and Cameron Foster
Clemson University
Faculty Sponsors: Ulrike Heine, David Franco, and Daniel Harding

Shore of a Hundred Islands: Viviani Isnata, and Maria Ulloa
California College of the Arts
Faculty Sponsor: Evan Jones & Margaret Ikeda

Dyads: Thomas Valcourt, Karl Greschner, and Philippe Bernard
Université Laval
Faculty Sponsors: Claude Demers, and André Potvin

The Fly Flat: Cynthia Suarez-Harris, Ledell Thomas, and Kennia Lopez
Prairie View A&M University
Faculty Sponsors: Shelly Pottord, Shannon Bryant, and April Ward

“The Happy Land” | An Antiquarium for Torre Annunziata: Haley Teske
Montana State University
Faculty Sponsors: Bradford Watson, and Jaya Mukhopadhyay

Healing Habitats: Innovation Center for Disease and Water ManagementCatherine Earley, Elena Koepp, and Sabrina Ortiz
University Oregon
Faculty Sponsor: Brook Muller

Transfusion: Tapering Tucson: Cole Robinson, and Michael Horan
Clemson University
Faculty Sponsors: Ulrike Heine, Daniel Harding, and David Franco

Wallingford W2E: Sean Anderson, Tobias Jimenez, and Haley Ladenburg
Washington State University
Faculty Sponsor: Omar Al-Hassawi

Après le Déluge: Will Letchinger, and Jonathan Wilkinson
Rice University
Faculty Sponsor: John Casbarian

Coolth Capitalism: Peter Lazovskis, and Thomas Schaperkotter
Harvard GSD
Faculty Sponsor: Matthew Soules

You can get more information and see renderings of these projects here: 2019-COTE-Winners

The competition jury includes: Mary Demro, Montana State University; David Dowell, El Dorado Inc.; Bradford Grant, Howard University; and Matthew Noblett, Behnisch Architekten/Partners.

Complete details for each project are available on ACSA’s website: 2019-COTE-Winners. High-resolution rendering requests can be obtained from The projects will be on display at the 108th ACSA Annual Meeting in March 2020.