The American Institute of Architects, Custom Residential Architects Network (AIA CRAN) and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), have selected the recipients of the 2017 HERE+NOW: A House for the 21st Century Residential Student Design Competition. The competition recognizes seven exceptional studio projects that seamlessly integrate innovative, regenerative strategies within their broader design concepts. The program challenged students to submit projects that provide architecture students, with a platform to explore residential architecture and residential architectural practice.

The jury for the HERE+NOW Housing Competition includes: Aaron Bowman, Liollio Architecture (Charleston, South Carolina); Patricia Seitz, Massachusetts College of Art and Design (Boston, Massachusetts); and Emily Roush-Elliott, Delta Design Build Workshop (Greenwood, MS). The competition had over 560 student and faculty participants and received nearly 200 submissions. The jurors chose First, Second, Third and four Honorable Mentions to be awarded. 




The competition had over 560 participants from the following schools:

California State University, Long Beach; Carleton University; Carnegie Mellon University; Catholic University of America; Cuesta College; Drexel University; Dunwoody College of Technology; Erie Community College; Ferris State University; Hampton University; Illinois Institute of Technology; Iowa State University; Kansas State University; Laurentian University; Mississippi State University; New York City College of Technology; NewSchool of Architecture and Design; North Carolina State University; North Dakota State University; Prairie View A&M University; Pratt Institute; Ryerson University; Savannah College of Art and Design; Southern Illinois University; Texas A&M University; The Cooper Union; The University of Colorado Boulder; Universite de Montreal; University Laval; University of Arkansas; University of Calgary; University of California, Berkeley; University of Cincinnati; University of Florida; University of Hawaii At Manoa; University of Houston; University of Illinois at Chicago; University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; University of Kentucky; University of Massachusetts, Amherst; University of Memphis; University of Nevada, Las Vegas; University of North Carolina at Charlotte; University of Tennessee-Knoxville; University of Texas At San Antonio; University of the District of Columbia; University of Virginia; University of Washington; University of Waterloo; University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Virginia Tech; & Washington State University