2016-2017 Housing Competition

The American Institute of Architects (AIA), Custom Residential Architects Network (CRAN) knowledge community is pleased to announce the HERE+NOW: A House for the 21st Century residential student design competition for the 2016-2017 academic year. Administered by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) and sponsored by AIA, CRAN, this program is intended to provide architecture students, working individually or in teams, with a platform to explore residential architecture and residential architectural practice.

According to the US Census1, over 920,000 units of single family housing were completed in 2014. Many of these houses were built speculatively, as a generic prototype independent of context. Historically, Residential Architecture has represented a direct expression of culture and context, with local, vernacular elements informing the stylistic preference of the time. While the exterior of a house presents a more individualized image of its owner(s), the underlying design elements speak to broader cultural ideas of domesticity and family. Technological innovation, both in materials and systems, continues to advance the level of energy efficiency and resiliency in homes designed and built today.

This competition challenges students to envision a house for HERE+NOW: informed by context, culture, and vernacular, but fully embracing 21st century technology and ideas of domesticity.

Aaron Bowman, Liollio Architecture (Charleston, South Carolina)
Patricia Seitz, Massachusetts College of Art and Design (Boston, Massachusetts)
Emily Roush-Elliott, Delta Design Build Workshop (Greenwood, MS)



Program updates, including information on jury members as they are confirmed, may be found on the ACSA website: www.acsa-arch.org. Additional questions on the competition program and submissions should be addressed to:

Eric Wayne Ellis
Director of Operations & Programs
Allison Smith
Programs Manager




Summer 2016 
  Competition Launch

March 29, 2017 
  Registration DEADLINE

May 15, 2017 
  Submission DEADLINE

Summer 2017 
  Winners Announced