Winners Announced

ACSA is pleased to announce the winners of the 11th annual steel design student competition for the 2010-2011 academic year. Administered by ACSA and sponsored by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC), this year's program asked students to design an urban homeless assistance center that would help prepare its residents for reentrance into society. The jurors chose projects they felt provided an inviting and simple scale and showcased the innovation and ease of steel construction, allowing for economically feasible solutions. The competition also offered students the opportunity to participate in an open category, permitting them to select any site and building program. A summary publication featuring all the winners will be published this fall. 

+ Purchase the summary book of winners or view the online digital summary book:

Thank you to our jurors: Homeless Center Category: Ryan Smith, University of Utah; Chris Rockey, Rockey Structures LLC; Linda Brock, University of British Columbia; Open Category: Weiling He Texas A&M; John Syversten, OWPP / Cannon Design; Jonathan Ochshorn, Cornell University. 

Below are the winning projects in both categories:

Homeless Assistance Center Category
First Place 
Homeless Assistance Help 

Student: Igor Bialorucki (Warsaw University of Technology/University of Detroit Mercy)
Faculty Sponsor: Anthony C. Martinico
University of Detroit Mercy

Second Place
Resource Tent 

Student: Iroha Ito 
Faculty Sponsor: Robert Fakelmann
Louisiana Tech University

Third Place 
Ribbons Connecting Homelessness to Society

Student: Martin Bouvard
Faculty Sponsor: Rumiko Handa
University of Nebraska-Lincoln 


Honorable Mentions

Oklahoma City Homeless Assistance Center for Families
Student: Andrew Sedersten
Faculty Sponsors: John J. Phillips, Khaled Mansy, Tom Spector, Jeanne Homer and Jerry Stivers
Oklahoma State University 

[inside]OUT Homeless Facility
Students: David Hurtado, Colin Winchell and Luis Salas 
Faculty Sponsor: Daniel Rabin 
Woodbury University 

Subterranean Ascension
Student: James Metoyer
Faculty Sponsor: Robert Fakelmann
Louisiana Tech University 

Open Category
First Place
Lacing the Gaze: Public Library and Cultural Centre for NGD, Montreal, Canada

Student: Yekaterina Artemchuk 
Faculty Sponsor: Martin Bressani
McGill University

Second Place
Milwaukee Industrial Exhibition Center 

Student: James Hinze
Faculty Sponsor: Gil Snyder, Frankie Flood & Kyle Talbot
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Third Place
arno. botanicaline 

Student: Kwan Lui 
Faculty Sponsor: Michael Stephen Zdepski
New Jersey Institute of Technology


Honorable Mentions

San Francisco Museum of the Moving Image (MOTMI)
Student: Jose Barajas
Faculty Sponsor: Roman Montoto
University of Idaho

Student: Thomas Fagan
Faculty Sponsor: Thomas Fowler IV
California Polytechnic State University, SLO

Student: Carolyn Rhodes
Faculty Sponsor: Mohammed Bilbeisi
Oklahoma State University

Eric W. Ellis, Director of Operations and Programs
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture
1735 New York Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20006
Tel: 202.785.2324