2010-11 Haiti Ideas Challenge

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), and Howard University's School of Architecture and Design, are pleased to announce the winners of the first stage of the Haiti Ideas Challenge. The challenge asked students and emerging professionals in the design disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban planning, among others, to design permanent solutions to rebuild the infrastructure, cities, neighborhoods and structures affected by the 2010 earthquake. 

Edward D. Dunson of Howard University's College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences, Rockfeler Herisse, Ph.D of the United State Agency for International Development, Diane Jones of Morgan State University School of Architecture and Planning, Renee Kemp-Rotan,Urban Designer and author of Haiti Culture Code, and Suman Sorg of Sorg Architects reviewed submissions from over 800 participants worldwide and selected four projects that best demonstrated long-term sustainable, culturally appropriate redevelopment for Haiti. 

As this project continues, the four selected exemplars will be distributed for review and comment by a jury of Haitian government officials, members of the United States State Department and other key groups involved in Haiti’s rebuilding efforts. 

Below are the four winning projects:

Agriculture Category Winner
re_Rooting Haiti

Students: Brodie Bricker and Matthew Zelensek
Faculty Sponsor: Lynne Dearborn
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign 

Policy Category Winner
Cultivating Rivers: From Threat to Resource

Students: Patsy Shaffer, Cynthia Guajardo and Tara Abbaticchio
Faculty Sponsor: Emmanuel Didier and Ann Komara
University of Colorado Denver 

Housing Category Winner
Reclaiming Heritage

Students: Holly Au, Miguel Delso Paez, Federico Rota, Alejandro García Gadea, and Carmen Gómez Maestro 
Faculty Sponsors: Renato D'Alencon and Luis Beltrán del Río
Technische Universität Berlin 

Industry Category Winner
MOSAÏQUE DU SEL [cultivating salt : engaging people + land + sea]

Students: Emily Josephs, Sarah Maas and Dustin Farmer
Faculty Sponsors: Emmanuel Didier and Ann Komara 
University of Colorado Denver 

Disaster Assistance Faculty Programs

See what ACSA member schools are and have done in the recovery efforts for Haiti.

+ Learn More

Eric W. Ellis, Director of Operations and Programs
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture
1735 New York Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20006
Tel: 202.785.2324
email: eellis@acsa-arch.org