Housing Design Education

Submission Deadline: September 17, 2014 


The ACSA/AIA Housing Design Education Award is granted jointly by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) and the American Institute of Architects (AIA) to recognize the importance of good education in housing design to produce architects ready for practice in a wide range of areas and able to be capable leaders and contributors to their communities.

Judging Criteria for the Housing Design Education Award will be evaluated on the basis of the positive impact on students, the university, or the community. This impact may be found in areas such as the creation of a stimulating environment for learning about housing issues or for stimulating positive outcomes related to housing issues between and among university and community members. Submissions should convey how they address ideas of cultural, social, economical, or environmental sustainability. 



Persons in ACSA member schools who are engaged in teaching may enter one or more submissions relevant to their educational activities. Previous winners in the Housing Design Education Award may apply each year with new program components. 

Submission Documentation
Entries should be submitted through the online system, up to 20, 8.5x11 pages in PDF format. An abstract (not to exceed 300 words) describing the course or activity. All material  should remain anonymous (i.e., do not identify the school or any of the participants by name in the written and graphic program material). All material must be submitted by September 17, 2014 at 5:00 pm ET, online at www.acsa-arch.org and the submitter will need to log into the ACSA website in order to submit.

Each submission shall contain the following:
  • Submission Information, completed online during submission (www.acsa-arch.org);
  • Abstract (not to exceed 300 words);
  • Supporting material or documents illustrating and describing the candidate’s curricular and/or activity. (not to exceed a total of 20, 8.5x11 pages, in PDF format).

To maintain anonymity, no names of entrants or collaborating parties may appear on any part of the submission. Credits may be concealed by any simple means. Do not conceal identity and location of the project. 

Selection & Presentation
Applications will be assessed by a jury composed of two individuals from AIA and two individuals from ACSA, none of who shall be associated with any of submissions. A maximum of three programs will receive the Excellence in Housing Design Education Award. The jury, in any year, may choose not to bestow the ACSA/AIA Housing Design Award. Winners will be announced at an Architectural Education Awards Ceremony during the 103rd ACSA Annual Meeting in Toronto, Ontario 2015. 


+ Download the complete 2014-2015 ACSA Architecture Awards Program (PDF)
+ Past Recipients

2014-2015 HDE Jurors: 
Ryan Smith, University of Utah
Carlos Reimers, Catholic University of America
Victor Mirontschuk, EDI International 
Carey Clouse, University of Massachusetts, Amherst