Faculty Design

Submission Deadline: September 25, 2019

To provide a venue for work that advances the reflective nature of practice and teaching by recognizing and encouraging outstanding work in architecture and related environmental design fields as a critical endeavor.

Submissions that represent critical investigations advancing the general understanding of the discipline of architecture are invited. This program will recognize built and unbuilt work and carefully consider critical efforts that reflect upon practice and research. 

Persons in ACSA full-member and candidate-member schools who are primarily engaged in teaching may enter one or more submissions on different subject matters relevant to their educational activities. Prior publication does not affect eligibility. Projects must have been completed after January 1, 2013, to be eligible for consideration. Projects that have previously been recognized by ACSA will not be considered.

Submission Documentation
Entries must consist of high-quality digital graphic material and text, maximum of 750 words, submitted through the online system by the nominee in PDF format with up to 20, 8.5x11 pages. All material must be submitted by September 25, 2019 at 5:00 pm EDT, online at www.acsa-arch.org and the submitter will need to log into the ACSA website in order to submit.

Each submissions shall contain the following information:

  • Submission information, completed online during submission (www.acsa-arch.org);
  • Abstract: (not to exceed 300 words) describing the project (copy/paste text box);
  • Supporting Material: Documents illustrating or describing the project (not to exceed a total of 20, 8.5x11 pages with a maximum of 750 words, in PDF format).

To maintain anonymity, no names of entrants or collaborating parties may appear on any part of the submission. Credits may be concealed by any simple means. Do not conceal identity and location of project.

Selection & Presentation
The ACSA Awards Committee shall recommend to the ACSA board for approval no more than four projects for this award per year. The committee, in any year, may choose not to bestow the Faculty Design Award. ACSA shall present recipients with a certificate during the ACSA Annual Meeting and recipients will have the opportunity to present their work.

+ 2020 ACSA Award Program
+ Past Recipients


2020 FD Award Jury
Rania Ghosn (Chair), MIT Architecture
Courtney Crosson, University of Arizona
Jennifer Bonner, Harvard University