Distinguished Professor

Submission Deadline: September 25, 2019

To recognize sustained creative achievement in the advancement of architectural education through teaching, design, scholarship, research, or service.

Candidates in the area of teaching shall have had a positive, stimulating, and nurturing influence upon students over an extended period of time and/or teaching which inspired a generation of students who themselves have contributed to the advancement of architecture. Candidates in the areas of design, scholarship, or research shall have produced a body of work that provides significant insight into the understanding and advancement of architecture and architectural education. Candidates in the area of service shall have significant impact fostering and sustaining excellent teaching and a healthy environment for learning and/or instituted measures leading to an understanding and appreciation of architectural education in the community at large. 

Full-time faculty members or persons whose activities have clearly been identified with architectural education in ACSA full-member and candidate-member schools for a minimum of 10 years are eligible. The achievements must have occurred during the period of appointment. No postmortem awards will be made. A candidate may be considered for this award and the AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion simultaneously. In such cases, the nomination must be submitted for each award separately, according to the conditions of required documentation. Any faculty member, administrator, or student at an ACSA full-member and candidate-member school may nominate a candidate for the ACSA Distinguished Professor Award.

Nomination Documentation
All materials are to be submitted through the online system by the nominator or nominee; once the nomination is finalized all parties will receive a confirmation email. The résumé and supporting letters are best uploaded as PDF documents. The supporting material (portfolio) must not exceed a total of 20, 8.5x11 pages and be submitted in PDF format. All materials must be submitted by September 25, 2019 at 5:00 pm EDT, online at www.acsa-arch.org and the submitter will need to log into the ACSA website in order to submit.

Each submission shall contain the following information:

  • Nomination Information, completed online during submission (www.acsa-arch.org);
  • Letter of Nomination: A letter explaining the reasons for the nomination according to the established criteria, not to exceed one page (PDF format);
  • Curated Résumé: A curated résumé summarizing the career and achievements of the candidate, no more than 10 pages. (PDF format);
  • Supporting Letters: No more than three supporting letters from persons qualified to comment upon the significance of the specific achievements of the candidate (no more than 1 page each in separate PDF format); 
  • Supporting Material: Documents illustrating or describing the candidate’s achievements (not to exceed a total of 20, 8.5x11 pages, in PDF format).

Selection & Presentation
The ACSA Awards Committee shall recommend to the ACSA board for approval no more than five individuals for this award per year. The committee, in any year, may choose not to bestow the Distinguished Professor Award. Nominations for the Distinguished Professor Award will remain active in consideration for three years and suggested updates in subsequent years (specifically the résumé). A medallion and certificate shall be presented by the ACSA president during the ACSA Annual Meeting and the recipient will have the opportunity to make a presentation about their work. The recipient may use the title “ACSA Distinguished Professor, DPACSA” in perpetuity.


+ 2020 Architectural Education Awards Program
+ Past Recipients

DP Award Jury

Francisco Rodriguez-Suarez (Chair), Universidad De Puerto Rico
Branko Kolarevic, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Dana Buntrock, University of California, Berkeley