Other Opportunities

Call for Papers



  • KSU | Year of India - Conference

    Dates: March 15-17 2018

    India, a land of ancient wisdom and cultural world heritage, is home to the world’s first cities. In the last twenty years it has experienced unprecedented growth, development, and change, altering its physical, cultural, and social landscape with dramatic effect. Today, its cities embody a paradoxical mix of globalization, modernity, and advanced technology with regionalism, tradition, and religion, juxtaposed with extreme poverty and inequality. Sustainability, in all its facets has emerged as a key problem in India’s development story. Urbanization is not an independent variable of development, but an integral part and product of the development process itself. Therefore, there is a need to understand urban issues as part of a larger development process affecting both rural and urban communities and livelihoods, employing historical and contemporary perspectives (with regional and global implications). Building off research in the fields of Sociology, Biology, and Architecture, the conference will examine contemporary urban growth in India and its effects on the everyday ecologies of its people. Our goal is a more holistic understanding of India’s urban ecologies, their interdependence, and the need for more sustainable strategies for urbanization. India’s cities can provide applicable lessons to the more global concerns of urbanization around the world. 

    Cost: Registration Fee $200 

    conference page link: http://dga.kennesaw.edu/yearof/india/conference.php

  • POROUS BORDERS, 4th AULA Symposium, El Paso/Ciudad Juarez

    Texas Tech University at El Paso
    March 29 – April 1, 2018


    Robert Alexander González, Texas Tech University
    Rafael Longoria, University of Houston
    Kristine Stiphany, Texas Tech University 

    Proposals due February 1, 2018
    Porous borders are often considered problems to be solved, but this condition can also present opportunities to increase cultural exchange, challenge pre-conceived notions, and improve the built environment. This forthcoming gathering brings together prominent scholars and architects to the U.S.-Mexico border to discuss a timely topic. We are accepting abstracts and project proposals presenting new scholarship on the subject in the following areas: 

    CONTESTATION/RESISTANCE: Work that emphasizes the flows and fluxes that calcify borders and ongoing efforts to resist them. 

    DISSOLUTION: Work associated with the creation of spatial territories that challenge, expand, diminish, and otherwise dissolve geopolitical barriers. 

    SYNTHESIS: Work interested in how borders provide a pedagogical datum for the intersection of architecture, urbanism, and Latina/o and Latin American cultural landscapes within studio pedagogy, with particular focus on travelling studios.

    TRANSGRESSION/RECIPROCITY: Work that investigates the evolving relationship between social, technical, and biophysical processes that reconfigure geopolitical boundaries to support emergent phenomena.

    Please submit statements of interest (one-page) to r.gonzalez@ttu.edu by February 1, 2018. If accepted, you will be asked to submit a larger file. Following the successes of past meetings at Harvard University, Tulane University, and the University of New Mexico, the contents of the conference will be published in a forthcoming issue of AULA: Architecture & Urbanism in Las Américas. Travel subsidies will be provided for selected scholars to present their work at the symposium.


    Abstracts of no more than 200 words should be sent before 
    31st March 2018 (extended deadline)

    Submit here!

    Dates:  5-7 September 2018 / Oxford Brookes University, Oxford, UK

    This is the Call For Papers for the 2nd International Conference on Baudrillard Studies to be held in the United Kingdom (September 2018, Oxford Brookes University). The title and overarching theme of the conference is: “Applied Baudrillard”. We invite participants from all over the world from all disciplines and fields of knowledge whether within or outside of academia to contribute to this international and multidisciplinary conference. We welcome all contributions that engage with Jean Baudrillard’s (1929–2007) ideas and oeuvre. For this 2nd International Baudrillard Studies Conference we especially welcome contributions that pertain to the applicability of Baudrillard’s philosophy in established and emerging fields of enquiry across and beyond the humanities and social sciences.

    Moving on from the 1st International Conference on Baudrillard Studies – “Engaging Baudrillard” held at Swansea University in 2006 – the ‘Applied Baudrillard’ conference at Oxford Brookes University seeks to capture the ever increasing significance and importance of Baudrillard’s writings and ideas across the world in numerous disciplines. In the first instance the conference organizers invite and welcome brief abstracts for presentations. Our intention is to organize received papers into themed panel sessions which will be decided by the organizers once abstracts have been received and reviewed.

    The interdisciplinary nature and scope of Baudrillard’s philosophy and oeuvre means that the themed panels will cover numerous disciplines


  • AIA Henry Adams Medal Award

    Submit Top Architecture Grads for Henry Adams by March 31st!
    Since 1915, the AIA has recognized the top architecture graduates in NAAB accredited programs. Schools have until March 31, 2018 to submit names for this honor.
    More information and the submission form is here

    Questions – email academicengagement@aia.org

  • IAWA Milka Bliznakov Research Prize

    Deadline: May 15th, 2018
    Stage one: Proposal Submission
    500-word proposal with CV and mailed 


  • International VELUX Award

    The International VELUX Award for students of architecture challenges students to explore the theme of daylight - to create a deeper understanding of this ever-relevant source of energy, light and life. The award runs every second year.

    “Light of Tomorrow” is the overall theme of the International VELUX Award. The award seeks to challenge the future of daylight in the built environment with an open-minded and experimental approach. Therefore, the award seeks to widen the boundaries of daylight in architecture, including aesthetics, functionality, sustainability, and the interaction between buildings and environment.

    The award is open to any registered student of architecture – individual or team – at the bachelor's or master's level all over the world. We encourage multi-disciplinary teams including e.g. engineering, design and landscaping. Every student or student team must be backed and granted submission by a teacher from a school of architecture.

    Registration Deadline: April 1, 2018
    Submission Deadline: June 15, 2018

To list a conference or competition open for participation by architectural educators and students, please email Amanda Gann at agann@acsa-arch.org