Competition Name



The International Institute for Sustainable Laboratories (I2SL) is devoted to the principles of sustainable laboratories - from design to engineering to practice. Through worldwide partnerships and the exchange of technical information, I2SL helps to produce high-technology facilities that address the rapid pace of science, medicine, research, and development in an ever-changing and dynamic world. (


The Office of Insular Affairs (OIA) has oversight of the U.S. territories and provides assistance to the territorial governments to meet a variety of needs, including water treatment and solid waste systems, roads, public buildings, hospitals, schools, insular management controls, and coral reef management. (


Project Partners


The Joint Institute for Caribbean Marine Studies (JICMS) is a consortium of four universities that will operate the MREC. They include the University of North Carolina Wilmington (UNCW); the University of the Virgin Islands (UVI); Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey (RU); and the University of South Carolina (USC).

National Park Service (

Government of Virgin Islands (

Office of Insular Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior (



The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1912 to enhance the quality of architectural education. ACSA provides a forum for ideas on the leading edge of architectural thought. Issues that will affect the design profession in the future are being examined today in ACSA member schools. ACSA is committed to the principles of universal and sustainable design.(




Additional questions on the competition program and submissions should be addressed to:
Eric W. Ellis, Project Manager
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture
1735 New York Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20006
Tel:  202.785.2324


Sustainable Lab Competition Program (PDF)


The competition organizers & I2SL especially wishes to acknowledge the technical and editorial input and guidance of the following volunteers in reviewing this competition package.  These include: Michael Bayer, Environmental Resources Management; Shannon Johnson, Eastern Research Group, Inc.; Kath Williams, Kath Williams + Associates; Beth Shearer, Beth Shearer and Associates Inc.; Tim Kehrli, Lutron Electronics Inc.; Dennis McCarthy, U.S. National Park Service; Nancy Carlisle, National Renewable Energy Laboratory; Randy Lacey, Cornell University; Phil Wirdzek, International Institute for Sustainable Laboratories; & Eric Ellis, Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture.