Read More

Print

Volunteers to Help ACSA Schools in Puerto Rico

September 29, 2017
School Contact
Host Students Host Faculty Potential Long Term Help Notes
Auburn University
Auburn, LA
Christian Dagg, School Head
daggchr@auburn.edu
(334) 644-5416
Yes Yes Includes offers to stay into spring semester. University is committed to finding housing and meal assistance.
Ball State University
Muncie, IN
Andrea Swartz, Professor and Chairperson
aswartz@bsu.edu
Yes Yes Interested
 
Boston Architectural College
Boston, MA
Karen L. Nelson
karen.nelson@the-bac.edu
Yes Case by Case   Case-by-case for faculty, Investigating housing options, Able to immediately host students in courses with space availability.
Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo, CA

Yes Case by Case As many as 20 spots available
California College of the Arts
San Francisco, CA
Lisa Findley, Interim Dean
(510) 599-3762

Yes As many as 20 student spots in B.Arch and M.Arch courses. Students would pay tuition at their home institution and no tuition at CCA. However, they would need to cover any housing and insurance fees here at CCA. CCA is looking into college-owned housing.
City College of New York
New York, NY
Julio Salcedo-Fernandez, Chair
salcedo-fernandez@ccny.cuny.edu
(212) 650-7118
Yes  Yes  Interested Space available for a studio section, plus 3-5 spaces each in B.Arch, M.Arch, and MAUD studios. Other elective and required courses available, case by case, as well as two part-time internship. The university is not able to offer housing or financial, travel, counseling aid. Faculty and students may be able to offer housing connections.    
Cooper Union
New York, NY
Nader Tehrani, Dean
ntehrani@cooper.edu
(212) 353-4220
Yes     Pursuing options for spring semester.
Dunwoody College of Technology
Minneapolis, MN
John Dwyer
jdwyer@dunwoody.edu
Yes Yes Interested
 
Florida A&M University
Tallahassee, FL
Andrew Chin, Interim Dean
andrew.chin@famu.edu
Yes Yes   All Caribbean ARC students are provided w/ a scholarship for reduced tuition at the In-State Florida Resident Rate. The University and our current students from Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Turks & Caicos and Bahamas will assist with finding housing.
Florida Atlantic University
Boca Raton, FL
Francis Lyn, Associate Director
flyn1@fau.edu
Versel Reid, Admission Advisor
VREID@fau.edu
(954) 762-5654
Case by Case Case by Case Interested
Illinois Institute of Technology
Chicago, IL
Eva KultermannAssociate Dean
kultermann@iit.edu
(312) 567-5886
Case by Case Case by Case  
Iowa State University
Ames, IA
Cameron Campbell, Senior Associate Dean 
cameronc@iastate.edu
(515) 294-8881
Yes Case by Case
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA
Marwan Ghandour, Director
ghandour1@lsu.edu
Yes Yes     
Marywood University
Scranton, PA
Jim Sullivan, Dean
jimsullivan@marywood.edu
Yes Yes    
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Newark, NJ
Tony Schuman, Interim Dean
schuman@njit.edu
(201) 247-5665
Yes Yes   We have studio space available immediately; we are exploring food and lodging
Portland State University
Portland, OR
Clive Knight, Professor & Director
knightsc@pdx.edu
(503) 725-3349
Yes     Case-by-case basis, undergrads and grads, short and/or long term.
SUNY Alfred State
Alfred, NY
Dr. Alex Bitterman
bittera@alfredstate.edu
Yes Yes Interested SUNY is offering in-state tuition to residents of Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. Spots available in 2- and 4- year Architectural Technology programs with opportunity for internal transfer to 5- year B.Arch. Details are available at https://www.suny.edu/suny-news/press-releases/10-2017/10-6-17/puerto-rico-usvi-tuition.html
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 
Dr. Ahmed K. Ali, 
ahali@tamu.edu
Yes Yes Interested Hosting students in undergraduate and graduate programs.
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, El Paso, Houston, TX
Jim Williamson, Dean
james.p.williamson@ttu.edu
(806) 742-3136
Yes Yes Interested
Tulane University
New Orleans, LA
 Kenneth Schwartz, Dean
 kschwartz@tulane.edu
(504) 314-2361
 Yes  Yes   Space for at least one studio of students.
University of Arkansas
Little Rock, AR
Peter MacKeith, Dean
mackeith@uark.edu
(479) 575-2702
Yes Yes
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH
Edward Mitchell, Director
(513) 556-4933
Case by Case Case by Case Interested
University of Hawaii
Honolulu, HI
 Daniel Friedman, Dean
 dsf4114@hawaii.edu
(808) 956-7225
 Yes  Yes   Space for two faculty members and up to twenty-five students in required and elective professional graduate studios, lectures, and seminars.
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Amherst, MA
Steve Schreiber
schreiber@umass.edu
Yes Yes   We have space in our building (and classes) for entire studio sections or individual students who may want to relocate.
University of Memphis
Memphis, TN
Michael Hagge, Chair
architecture@memphis.edu
(901) 678-2724
Yes Interested 2-3 spots available in each of the 6 academic years.
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sharon Haar, Professor & Architecture Program Chair
haar@umich.edu
  Yes   Host faculty on a case-by-case basis; host studios during spring (May-June) and summer (July-August) half-terms.
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
Marc Swackhamer
swack@umn.edu
Yes Yes Interested
We can host faculty and students here and could involve them in our coursework in the spring.
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Charlotte, NC
      Interested  
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
Milton S. F. Curry, Dean
mcurry@usc.edu
(213) 740-2083
Yes      
University of Texas at Austin 
Austin, TX
Nichole Wiedemann
wiedemann@utexas.edu
Yes Yes    Case by case basis for hosting both faculty and students.
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Brian McLaren, Chair
bmclaren@uw.edu
(206) 543-4966
Yes Yes Interested
We can host faculty on a case by case basis. We can host up to one studio of undergraduate and/or graduate students (approximately 12) in our Department.
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee, WI
Robert C. Greenstreet, Dean
bobg@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4016
Yes Case by Case
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA
Hunter Pittman, Associate Professor & Director
hpitt@vt.edu
(540) 231-5383
Yes Yes Interested
Washington University in St. Louis
Saint Louis, MO
Heather Wooftner, Director
woofter@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4636
      Case-by-case basis
Woodbury University
Burbank and San Diego, CA
Ingalill Wahlroos-Ritter, Dean
Ingalill.Wahlroos-Ritter@woodbury.edu
(818) 767-0888
Yes Case by Case Space for undegraduate and graduate students, approximately 10.
Categories
  • Features and News
  • ACSA Updates

You must log in to comment.