Read More


University of Texas at Austin

March 10, 2017

Michelle Addington has been chosen to be the new dean of the University of Texas at Austin’s School of Architecture. She is the first woman to be appointed to the role, a program that was founded in 1910.

Professor Christopher Long received the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) Distinguished Professor Award for 2016-2017. 

Professor Anthony Alofsin has been named an American Institute of Architects (AIA) Fellow.

Metropolis Magazine spotlighted UTSOA's commitment to diversity in the article, "Diversity Champions: 8 Schools that Aren't Just Paying Lip Service to Diversity.

Associate Professor Larry Doll’s house in Marfa, Texas, has been featured in the book Marfa Modern: Artistic Interiors of the West Texas High Desert by Helen Thompson.

Associate Professor Matt Fajkus and his practice, Matt Fajkus Architecture, was included in Architectural Record’s online “Featured Houses” section, which highlights three residential projects each month.

Assistant Professor Junfeng Jiao and Professor Ming Zhang served as advisors and judges for the UT Austin edition of the Net Impact and Toyota Next Generation Mobility Challenge.

Fernando Lara's timely op-ed, Use architecture to make our southern border an economic driver, was featured by the Dallas Morning News, McAllen Monitor, and San Angelo Standard-Times.

Mark Macek designed curved, Walnut wood podiums that were featured prominently during Super Bowl LI Opening Night and the Super Bowl post-game show.

Associate Dean Juan Miro's practice, Miro Rivera Architects, was spotlighted by The Architect's Newspaper as a "shining star" of Austin's lively architecture scene.

Distinguished Professor Larry Speck, FAIA, will present a Learn by Design session at SXSWedu (March 6-9) alongside Sue Cox, MD, Executive Vice Dean at the Dell Medical School.

The Texas Landscape Project, a new book by David Todd and Jonathan Ogren, received a very positive review in the February issue of Landscape Architect Magazine. 

Associate Professor Nichole Wiedemann has been elected National ACSA Secretary/Treasurer.  

  • Regional News
  • The University of Texas at Austin
  • West Central
  • University of Texas at Austin

You must log in to comment.