Read More


Auburn University

October 15, 2015

The Architecture Fall Lecture Series began on October 12 with David Heymann, the Harwell Hamilton Harris Regents Professor in Architecture and Teaching Professor at the University of Texas Austin.  Subsequent lectures will be given by Guy Nordenson, professor of architecture and structural engineering in the School of Architecture at Princeton University; Mariana Ibanez, Associate Professor of Architecture at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design; Linnea Tillett, Founder/Principal—Tillett Lighting Design Associates.  The School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture (APLA) lecture series is supported by practicing architects, planners and landscape architects in the State of Alabama.  For lecture dates, please visit the APLA Events calendar.

On October 30, APLA will host its 27th annual Pumpkin Carve at the newly renovated School of Architecture’s Dudley Courtyard.  After day-long pumpkin carving, the pumpkins will be lit on display at sunset, and are available for sale at the end of the evening.

Charlene LeBleu, Associate Professor and Chair of the Master of Landscape Architecture Program in the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture(APLA), and Grayson Parker, a graduate student in the dual degree Master of Landscape Architecture and Master of Community Planning programs, have won leadership awards from the Alabama Chapter of the American Planning Association. LeBleu will receive the “Kenneth J. Groves Distinguished Leadership Award for a Professional Planner,” and Parker will receive the “Distinguished Leadership Award for a Planning Student.” For more, read here.

Michael Robinson, Professor of Architecture and Landscape Architecture and Director of the Master of Real Estate Development Program, is one of the featured artists in the Auburn University Telfair Peet Theatre’s first gallery exhibit this fall. His painting, Memory Plays, was one of seven commissioned by the Auburn University Theatre and also graced the cover the Auburn University Theatre’s 2015–2016 season brochure. For more, read here.

Seab A. Tuck III, FAIA, a 1975 Auburn architecture graduate, received the 2015 AIA Tennessee William Strickland Award for Life time Achievement at the AIA Tennessee State Convention in July. This award is the highest honor that AIA Tennessee can bestow on an individual who has exhibited a lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture. Tuck is a principal in Tuck-Hinton Architects in Nashville, Tennessee, whose diverse portfolio of work has been recognized with more than 150 awards and featured in numerous publications.  Read more here.


  • Regional News
  • Auburn University
  • AIA Tennessee William Strickland Award
  • Memory Plays
  • APLA

You must log in to comment.