Read More


Clemson University

May 7, 2013

Lee III, the 55,000-square-food addition to Clemson’s Lee Hall, received an AIA Institute Honor Award for Design Achievement. Clemson’s alumnus Thomas Phifer ’75, ’77 and Partners of New York designed Lee III in collaboration with McMillan Pazdan Smith Architecture of Greenville. Lee III completed in April of 2012 was also awarded LEED gold certification by the US Green Building Council.

Professor Lynn Craig FAIA, RIBA received the 2013 AIASC Medal of Distinction, AIASC’s highest honor, at the AIASC annual meeting in Charleston. Craig is the Director of Architect Relations for the School of Design and Building at Clemson where he joined the faculty in 1981.

Assistant professor Ulrike Heine won the 2013 ACSA/AIAS New Faculty Teaching Award. Heine teaches classes in design and sustainability and has been recognized seven times throughout the past year as students in her design studio classes won national and international awards for their work in sustainable design.

DesignIntelligence journal named associate professor Daniel Harding one of the “30 most admired educators for 2013.” 30 most admired educators in design  were chose from the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, industrial design and interior design. The publication praised Harding’s use of design-build techniques in addressing community issues.  

Associate professor Douglas Hecker and assistant professor Martha Skinner published their work “Seed” in Urgent Architecture: 40 Sustainable Housing solutions for a Changing World (W. W. Norton, 2013) edited by Bridgette Meinhold.

Clemson graduate students took first and third place in the national/international  AIAS/Kawneer Enlightening Libraries Competition. Laura Boykin won first place, and Sam Pruitt was awarded third place for their design proposals for the Pendleton Library completed in the Fall 2012 studio of assistant professor Dr. Ufuk Ersoy. Their winning entries will be displayed at the AIAS Forum 2013 in Chicago and at the 2013 AIA Convention and Design Exposition in Colorado.

In the 2012 ASC/AGC Region II Design-Build Student Competition, the Clemson  team earned first place. The team consisted of Senior CSM majors Bobby McKinsey and Todd Rapoport, Junior CSM majors Matt Kolacki and Richard Dorn, Senior Architect major Alison Martin and Junior Architect major Abby Buckingham. The team coaches were assistant professor Sallie Hambright-Belue and associate professor Dr. Shima Clarke

Assistant Professor David Lee’s work was published in International Journal of Interior Architecture + Spatial Design, “Autonomous Identities” issue.

  • Regional News
  • News
  • Mid Atlantic
  • Clemson University

You must log in to comment.