Read More


NewSchool of Architecture and Design

May 3, 2013

A team of NewSchool of Architecture and Design (NSAD) students earned the top award at the prestigious Cal Poly Design Village 2013 competition April 19–21, beating out teams from 14 other California schools. The NSAD student team won the “Best Overall” category for demonstrating the best application of the design competition’s themes, “Make. Move. Play.”  The winning team included NSAD students Joshua Nunnally, Sebastian Beingolea, Anina Varghese, Barrak Darweesh and Matthew Padilla. This team was among 34 involved in the competition, including four other student teams from NSAD. All the NSAD student teams developed their entries as part of a design studio course taught by NSAD instructor Hussein Munaim. The annual Cal Poly Design Village competition challenges students to develop structures that are not only unique but also portable and habitable.

The Construction Management Association of America’s (CMAA) San Diego chapter has selected NewSchool of Architecture and Design (NSAD) as a “2013 Friend of the Industry.” The award recognizes a collaborative partner that has supported CMAA chapter activities and the construction management profession. The award was presented at the chapter’s Annual Awards Banquet April 25, 2013, along with scholarships to four NSAD Construction Management students that ranged from $500 to $5,000. The four NSAD Construction Management students who received scholarships from CMAA for their academic excellence were: Jake Jaenicke, Joseph Kovac Jr., Vincent Macias and German Morales, who are all students in NSAD’s Bachelor of Science in Construction Management campus-based program at NSAD and actively involved in the NSAD CMAA Student Chapter. At the awards banquet, several other NSAD Construction Management graduate and undergraduate students were also acknowledged for attaining the status of Construction Manager in Training (CMIT).

  • Regional News
  • News
  • NewSchool of Architecture and Design
  • West Region

You must log in to comment.