Read More


University of Nevada, Las Vegas

December 13, 2012


UNLV Architecture Professor Alfredo Fernandez-Gonzalez was named the 2012 Nevada Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE).  The award was presented during a luncheon on November 15, 2012 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

The awards recognize professors for their influence in the classroom and their commitment to undergraduate students. Fernandez-Gonzalez was selected from a pool of nearly 300 top professors nationwide and a broad range of academic disciplines and institutional types.

“Great faculty dedicated to the success of our students are the backbone of UNLV and our tradition of educational excellence,” said UNLV President Neal Smatresk. “Professor Fernandez-Gonzalez has been an outstanding mentor and coach for students by engaging them in relevant research that is contextually linked to their major interest. UNLV is proud of his accomplishments and of our architecture program.”

Fernandez-Gonzalez was also the recipient of the 2012 UNLV Foundation Distinguished Teaching Award and UNLV’s nominee to the Nevada System of Higher Education Regents Teaching Award.  He is presently the Director of the Natural Energies Advanced Technologies Laboratory and the Architecture Program Coordinator.

The U.S. Professors of the Year Program began in 1981 and is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.  Judges selected national and state winners based on four criteria:

 - Impact on and involvement with undergraduate students

 - Scholarly approach to teaching and learning

 - Contributions to undergraduate education in the institution, community and profession

 - Support from colleagues and current and former students

“The winners have drawn on the best of what we know from cognitive science, learning theory and evidence-based practices in post-secondary instruction to orchestrate extraordinary opportunities for the students in their classrooms,” said Anthony S. Bryk, president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, in a statement. "In honoring these distinguished professors who have exhibited excellence in teaching in their disciplines and extraordinary dedication to their students, we are supporting the centrality of teaching on campus and recognizing its importance to the future of our country.”

This year, a state Professor of the Year was recognized in 30 states and the District of Columbia. CASE assembled two preliminary panels of judges to select finalists. The Carnegie Foundation then convened the third and final panel, which selected four national winners. CASE and Carnegie select state winners from top entries resulting from the judging process.  For additional information please visit:

  • Regional News
  • News
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • West
  • Architecture Faculty
  • Building Science
  • UNLV
  • Building Technology/Environmental Systems
  • School News
  • Press Releases
  • News
  • ACSA News

You must log in to comment.