Read More


University of Puerto Rico

August 22, 2012

The University of Puerto Rico (UPR) School of Architecture celebrated its 45th anniversary with the publication of (in)forma volumes 7 & 8.

 Last semester our exhibition series was highlighted by WAI architecture think tank, while this academic year we will be exhibiting the work of architectural photographers Francisco Vando, Max Toro, and Ivonne Marcial.

 Our upcoming lecture series features Patrick Schumacher, Brett Steele, Giancarlo Mazzanti, Cristián Undurraga, Benedetta Tagliabue, Moshen Mostafavi, Felipe Correa, Rodolfo Machado, Jorge Silvetti, Nader Tehrani and Eric Goldemberg.

 For the third straight year we will co-organize an exchange of lecturers with Tulane University.  Andrés Mignucci will visit New Orleans this Fall while Scott Bernard will come to San Juan in the Spring. The initiative is sponsored by Orval Sifontes’ Fundación Pro-Arq.

 Profs. Jorge Lizardi-Pollock, Carlos García-Moreira and Dean Francisco Javier Rodríguez, AIA presented the book Ambivalent Spaces: Memory and Oblivion in Modern Social Architecture in Berlin. The book was a collaboration between UPR’s CIUDAD urban think tank and Humboldt University’s Max Weber center.

 Volume 6 of our journal (in)forma 6 was selected by the Bienal Iberoamericana de Arquitectura y Urbanismo in Cádiz, Spain.

 We hosted an international symposium titled “Energy: Policy, Technology and Design” together with the UPR Law School and the faculty of Natural Sciences.

Students Angel Vidro and Michael Quiñones won the Third Place in an international competition organized by Suckerpunchdaily for a robotic building.

Student Néstor Lebrón won an Honorable Mention in an international competition to rethink New York’s Waterfront.  The work was exhibited in the Museum of the City of New York.

The proposal to rethink San Juan’s Bay in 2050 submitted by the School’s Competition Studio was selected by the IAAC (Barcelona) for its yearly publication.

Fred Díaz y Claudia Cintrón won AIA-PR Chapter students awards.

Thomas Marvel (MArch Harvard GSD), Cristina Cardalda (MArch Harvard GSD), Andrés Mignucci (MArch MIT), Raphael Osuna (MArch UPenn), and Yazmin Crespo (MArch Harvard GSD) have joined our School’s Design Faculty.

Federico Bares (MAUD Harvard GSD) from La Plata, Argentina will continue to serve as Visiting Professor.

Prof. Darwin Marrero designed a Pro-Arq publication on Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan, PR.

This summer we offered six international programs in Corsica, Barcelona, Mexico, Cartagena, New York and Sao Paulo.

  • Regional News
  • News
  • Gulf Region
  • University of Puerto Rico

You must log in to comment.