Read More


University of Puerto Rico

March 26, 2012

The Universtiy of Puerto Rico (UPR) School of Architecture celebrated its 45th anniversary with a keynote lecture by AV Editor Luis Fernández Galiano.

Design Intelligence included the UPR School of Architecture in its 2011 Best Architecture Schools in America as one of five “unexpected options.”

The School of Architecture will co-host an interdisciplinary Symposium titled “Energy: Technology, Policy and Planning.”

In collaboration with the Fundación Pro-Arq, the UPR will edit a publication on Hiram Bithorn Stadium, a San Juan Modernist icon.

Renowned photographer David Lachapelle gave a lecture sponsored by the Museum of Contemporary Arts (MAC), where Prof. Lilliana Ramos Collado, Ph.D. is Head Curator.

Prof. JRC Davis (Tulane) and Nixa Ramírez (UW-Milwaukee) have joined the faculty as Adjunct design Professors.

For the 6th straight year, the UPR is participating in the AEC Global Teamwork studio, organized by Prof. Renate Fruchter at Stanford University.  The studio is locally coordinated by Prof. Humberto Cavallín, Ph.D. and his CIDI Reaserch Center.

The UPR School’s 2009 Solar Decathlon entry (CASH) received an Honor Award in the College of Architects and Landscape Architects of Puerto Rico (CAAPPR in Spanish) Bienal.

Prof. Nathaniel Fúster won the Premio Nacional de Arquitectura (CAAPPR’s National Architecture Prize).

Dean Francisco Javier Rodríguez, AIA, offered a lecture at Oklahoma State University and attended the DRL reviews at the AA in London. This semester he will be lecturing at Georgia Tech.

Prof. José Javier Toro will lecture at Tulane University this semester.

Profs. Marco Trevisani and Carlos-García Moreira attended the final reviews at Texas Tech University.

Prof. Jorge Lizardi-Pollock, Ph.D. will present his new book on Modernist Social Housing at the Humbolt University’s Georg Simmel Center in Berlin.

Prof. Javier Isado edited the 5th edition of the School’s magazine (in)forma, dedicated to Digital Narratives, and was selected to present it at the Bienal Iberoamericana de Diseño in Spain and a symposioum at NYU.

Prof. Darwin Marrero edited the 6th edition of (in)forma on Hypertourism and presented it at UNIBE’s Tourism symposium in the Dominican Republic. It will also be presented at Tulane, Panama, Curaçao and Costa Rica.

Profs. Oscar Marty and Darwin Marrero are offering a Graduate Joint Studio together with Georgia Tech’s Prof. Ellen Dunham-Jones.

The UPR School of Architecture is working on a joint graduate degree with Barcelona’s ELISAVA.

The work of Profs. Jorge Ramírez-Buxeda, JRC Davis and Francisco Javier Rodríguez, Alumni Segundo Cardona and Miguel Calzada, and students Claudia Cintrón and Fred Díaz was recognized during the 2011 AIA-PR Chapter Awards Ceremony.

The work of Profs. José Javier Toro, Nathaniel Fúster, Francisco Gutiérrez, Carlos García-Moreira, Jorge Lizardi-Pollock and Francisco Javier Rodríguez, Alumni Segundo Cardona, Rafael Blanco and Miguel Calzada was recognized during the 2011 CAAPPR Bienal.

The Competition Studio students earned five Finalists and one Merit Award in International competitions in Moscow, Taiwan, Paris and New York. One of the projects was included in a publication by the IAAC in Barcelona.

This semester’s lecture series includes Cameron Sinclair, Felipe González (Colombia), Cruz García (WAI), Javier Sánchez (Mexico), Judith Kinnard, Mark Burry (New Zealand), Alan Balfour (Georgia Tech), Machado-Silvetti (Boston), Kieran-Timberlake (Philadelphia), Val Warke (Cornell) and Thom Mayne (Morphosis)

The School of Architecture reached an agreement for a summer program with Sao Paulo’s Escola da Cidade. It will be the seventh summer option along with Cartagena, Barcelona, Corsica, Mexico, New York and Havana.

Our staff visited the ie University in Spain and is currently working on a collaboration agreement between the two schools.

  • Regional News
  • News
  • Southeast Region
  • University of Puerto Rico

You must log in to comment.