Read More


University of Oklahoma

March 13, 2012

The University of Oklahoma joined Harvard University as one of only two universities with multiple teams honored in the 10th annual Urban Land Institute Gerald D. Hines Student Urban Design Competition.  One OU team received an "Honorable Mention First Place" and the other an "Honorable Mention Overall Merit" in the competition, placing them both in the top 10 percent of the field, which consisted of 139 graduate-level teams from 64 universities throughout United States and Canada. Serving as advisers were Blair Humphreys, executive director of the Institute for Quality Communities, and Associate Professor of Architecture Hans Butzer. "The Veranda" placed fifth receiving "First Place Honorable Mention" and featured a dynamic public space connected to the Buffalo Bayou trail network. The team members were fifth-year architecture students Adelle York, who served as team leader, Aric Yarberry and Grant Hromas; regional and city planning graduate student Ty McCarthy, and MBA student Ohm Devani. “The Foundry” received an "Honorable Mention Overall Merit" for their proposal to create a district designed to empower startup entrepreneurs. Members of the team were regional and city planning graduate students Phillips Walters, who served as the team leader, and Shane Hampton; landscape architecture graduate student Alex Tyler; architecture graduate student Grant Evert, and fifth-year architecture student Preston Kunz. Read more

University of Oklahoma architecture and construction science students made history by winning all categories of the 17th Region V Associated Schools of Construction/TEXO Student Competition, a first for any university in the region and a first for the competition. The OU students won in the Commercial Building, Design Build, Design Build International, and Heavy Civil categories of the competition held in Dallas.  The teams were coached by Tammy McCuen, OU assistant professor of construction science, and Anthony Cricchio, OU assistant professor of architecture (Design Build); Ken Robson, OU construction science professor, and Dublin Institute of Technology Professor Lloyd Scott (International Design Build); Dominique Pittenger, OU adjunct professor of construction science (Heavy Civil); and Richard Ryan, OU professor of construction science (Commercial Building). Read more.

The OU College of Architecture will remodel an old nearby hotel that was damaged in a 2009 fire. The Alvis Hotel in Pauls Valley suffered fire damage in Sept. 2009. The students, alongside associate professor of architecture Ron Frantz, will assist in the remodeling of the hotel, which was built in the late 1800s. The Alvis property is working toward being registered with the National Register of Historic Places, which will open the project up to tax credits and federal funding to allow the students a large amount of leeway, Frantz said. Read more.

Faculty in the College of Architecture will present papers and research during our second annual Research and Creative Activity Day on March 14, 2012. See the full schedule and topics.

Designers James Burnett and Jereck Boss of Project 180, the significant street and public space overhaul underway in downtown Oklahoma City, will speak about their work in Norman and Oklahoma City as part of the Streets for People lecture series presented by the Institute for Quality Communities on Thursday, March 15, 2012.

  • Regional News
  • News
  • Professor
  • West Central
  • Press
  • Oklahoma State University
  • University of Oklahoma
  • Competitions
  • ACSA News

You must log in to comment.