Read More


Illinois Institute of Technology

December 2, 2011

IIT College of Architecture faculty have been recognized in AIA Chicago’s 2011 Design Excellence Awards. At the October 28th event, five faculty members’ firms received awards.

The College of Architecture faculty honorees are listed below by award. For complete coverage of the 2011 awards, including photos of each winning design, visit AIA Chicago's web site.

Distinguished Building Honor Award
Carol Ross Barney, Ross Barney Architects. James I Swenson Civil Engineering Building.

Distinguished Building Citation of Merit
John Ronan, John Ronan Architects. Gary Comer College Prep.
Carol Ross Barney, Ross Barney Architects. Fullerton and Belmont Stations Reconstruction.

Interior Architecture Citation of Merit
Andrew Metter, Epstein | Metter Studio. Serta International.

Regional & Urban Design Honor Award
Martin Felsen, UrbanLab. Farming the Chicago Stock Yards.

Regional & Urban Design Citation of Merit
Thomas Hoepf, Teng + Associates. Moraine Valley Community College Entrance Gateway + Quadrangle.

IIT College of Architecture's Paris Program students recently conducted a collaborative workshop with IE University in Segovia, Spain. Segovian "esgrafiado," a traditional facade surface technique, was used as a point of departure. Under the guidance of renowned Segovian artisan Julio Barbero Artesanos, the session began as an active seminar with students working in traditional techniques, tools, materials, and processes. A technical architect, Anna Marasuela, presented a contemporary perspective on variations in system performance and its inherent efficiency with respect to embodied energy and material reuse. 

After this initial training, students developed contemporary production ideas, speculating on material adaptations, the implications of altering production processes, and the effects on the system's programmatic and communicative abilities.

View coverage in El Adelantado de Segovia newspaper

  • Regional News
  • News
  • West Central
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Architectural Design
  • News
  • ACSA News

You must log in to comment.