Read More


Tulane University

November 15, 2011

Judith Kinnard, Harvey-Wadsworth Chair of Landscape Urbanism and Professor of Architecture was named as one of the DesignIntelligence 25 Most Admired Educators of 2012. Professor Kinnard’s commitment to architectural education spans 28 years, having taught at Syracuse University, Princeton University, and the University of Virginia. In her studio teaching, she focuses on institutional programs and their creative engagement of physical and cultural context. Her current research and teaching also involves the development of innovative approaches to low-rise/high-density housing for American cities. She maintains an active practice.

Favrot Professor and Dean Kenneth Schwartz, FAIA delivered a plenary address at the IBM Smarter Cities Conference in Rio de Janiero, Brazil in November, discussing the strategies and initiatives that Tulane School of Architecture and Tulane University have taken in the recovery of New Orleans.  He participated in this event with Ginni Rometty, the new President and CEO of IBM.  He also gave a talk at the same conference on the Richardson Memorial Hall Sustainable Strategies project that he has undertaken for the school's 100 year-old building. The pre-design phase has been completed by FXFOWLE and el dorado architects with a strong team of sustainable engineering and landscape consultants.

Tulane School of Architecture is pleased to be the recipient of the 2011 NCARB Grant. This grant supports the creation and implementation of new methods to integrate practice and education in the academy. The funded proposal authored by adjunct assistant professor Z Smith and assistant professor Kentaro Tsubaki aims to integrate the post-building performance survey/analysis into pre-building design practice in the educational setting. The funds will be used to equip our students with the latest, most advanced technologies to collect and analyze building performance data in the newly developed technology course slated to be offered in the 2012-13 academic year.

  • Regional News
  • Awards
  • Southwest Regioin
  • Grants
  • Southwest Regional News
  • Dean
  • Tulane University
  • Southwest
  • ACSA News
  • Environment/Sustainability

You must log in to comment.